Skip to content

When Searching Google for Pictures, Beware, and Thank You.

July 28, 2008

You never know what you’ll find. Who the hell knew Lane Bryant was around so many years ago? (This image below is circa 1962 or so.) I hate them now, I probably would have hated them then. Well, hate is too strong a word. Lane Bryant was there when I needed them (oh, no, I hear a song…) but they have no clue about really, really dressing for your size.  If all goes according to plan – Weight Watchers, and my determination – I’ll never have to set foot in there again.

Today I am down another 1.4 pounds and I hit my goal of 30.4 pounds total so far! My next goal is 40 pounds total by Labor Day. I know I can do it. If not exactly by that Monday, it will be soon thereafter. I have only 9.6 pounds to lose in four weeks. I can do that.

Believe it or not, my total weight loss goal is 100 pounds. (I won’t say where that will put me, but it’s in a nice healthy range, trust me.) Today, there was a lady at WW who hit her goal. I don’t know how much total she lost, but I had a glimpse of what that might feel like. I hope to hit that by next spring, if not sooner.

I also know this is not a diet. This is a complete life change – a new way of thinking, a new way of eating, a new way of living. For example, today we talked about mental rehearsing. How to prepare for situations so that the actions we take seem effortless. It’s more about just learning what vegetables to eat and what sweets to avoid. I’m learning and absorbing so much that no one ever taught me before – either because they didn’t know to teach me or I wasn’t going to listen.

Anyway, a huge message of thanks goes to you guys too for cheering me on, for telling me how fabulous you think I look in my new skirts and stuff because that inspires me to keep going. You have no idea how your words ring in my head when I crave the popcorn with butter slathered over it.

No more chubbies for me. Unless the chubby’s name is Evan, and you are 8 months old. His kind of chubby is completely acceptable and I can’t get enough of it. 

007(1) 041

9 Comments
  1. July 28, 2008 8:37 pm

    WTF? Chubbies? Really? Remember huskys’ … my brother always had to wear that style jean, so degrading for an 8 year old. I am so impressed by your weight loss goal , you’ll make it if you have the will! 40 pounds is such a great accomplishment!

    GG – I remember husky jeans. My oldest brother had to wear them too. Ugh. I’m not to 40 yet, but soon!

  2. Bev permalink
    July 29, 2008 6:30 am

    I am so proud of you! I know I’m only your internet friend, but still……. you go, girl. I have absolutely no doubt you will make your goal.

    As a child/youth/teen, I was “just the right size” because my mom fed us balanced healthy meals in the proper portions. So, WW = Mom! ha (And I’m rethinking everything I eat now, too.)

    Bev – I consider you my friend, no internet qualifier needed. 🙂 Good weight really is about moderation and balance, which is also a good tenet for leaving a healthy life, isn’t it?

  3. July 29, 2008 7:14 am

    My God I cant believe they ever stayed in business with that degrading ad!

    Totally, VV! Now they just take clothes that look great on a size zero and make them a size 18, thinking the same empire top won’t make them look pregnant, or that bling on the ass of a size 18 won’t be noticed that they still have a big ass. (I *was* a size 18, so I’m being self-deprecating, not insulting others who are large.)

  4. July 29, 2008 8:44 am

    Okay, that Evan always has the greatest expression on his face. The other grandkids are always being cute little kids, just livin’ life and having a great time, while Evan is always looking into the camera and wondering what on earth you’re doing! He’s too funny.

    You do look really great. 🙂

    Wendy, That’s too true! He is! Evan is just the doll of all dolls, following right in his brother’s footsteps. And his sister’s. I should post a picture I have of Cindy and Elise when Elise was almost 2. People thought my daughter was holding a doll. LOL. (And thank you!)

  5. July 30, 2008 3:59 am

    You have to admit though that Chubbies does sound kind of cute.

    Murray Trillionaire – well, sure, chubbies does sound cute – if you’re 18 months old and toddling around still drinking out of a bottle. Not so cute when you are a preteen. My daughter fit in that category and there was too much emphasis on it instead of emphasis on eatiing healthy, balanced food and staying active. I didn’t know any better and neither did the other adults around us.

  6. Carol permalink
    July 30, 2008 8:01 am

    I can remember the Lane Bryant jingle from back in the 70’s or early 80’s:

    “The Lane Bryant Chubby Shop has clothes that are in.
    ‘Cause not everybody was meant to be thin.”

    Lovely, isn’t it??? That’s what they called it back then – The Lane Bryant Chubby Shop. YIKES!!!

    Carol – good think I wasn’t living in the states in the 70s or that would be ringing in my head too and I’d need some serious couch time to get rid of that earworm.

  7. July 30, 2008 9:50 am

    What I hate about Lane Bryant is that all the clothes they try to sell you are on skinny models. I want to see the clothes on fat people. I want to see what I will look like in them. Most of them aren’t even designed for fat people.

    Well, I know you and I will both make it. I haven’t done well the last two weeks but I think I am back on course.There is a lot of patience involved with this because you have to realize it is going to take time.

    Exactly, Joan. They don’t understand, really. One good thing though is that they do hire larger women to work in the stores. Women who understand what it is like to have fit issues. However, it backfires somewhat because most of the time they are wearing clothes found in the store, and they look awful in them. Not a good sales tactic.

    And yes, we will both make it. I figure it took me 10 years to get to my heaviest weight – and I may never publicly disclose that on the internet – so if it takes me a year or two to get to my goal – aka healthy – weight, then so be it. I don’t EVER want to gain it back either only to have to work so hard to lose it all over again. I hope what I learn really changes me. I think it will.

  8. July 30, 2008 12:12 pm

    congratulations… those are the cutest kids ever.. what great shots of them..

  9. July 30, 2008 12:42 pm

    Chubbies…Huskies…no wonder we’re all so screwed up!

    Congratulations on your weight loss, your lifestyle change, and mostly on how happy this is all making you!

Comments are closed.

