Skip to content

How would you do these seams?

August 3, 2008

image We’re still on Simplicity 2977. The skirt has two front seams and two back seams, in addition to the side seams. I could serge them, but my concern is that I don’t want that extra bulk not laying flat and ending up causing puckers around the butt or front tummy.

Another alternative I considered was to use my standard sewing machine, and then press the seams open, and top stitch them down. In essence, it might add some interest, but when I’m using a patterned fabric, maybe that would be too much.

Lastly, I thought of blending the pattern pieces such that it eliminates the two front seams and all I have are the side seams. Or, I could not cut the front piece on the fold, and have a single center front seam and center back seam (blending out the two front and two back seams.)

One thing I have learned is that sewing, just like good writing, requires a LOT of planning. Planning is important if you want to have a garment that you’ll love and really wear more than once. I’m not just the kind of seamstress who can just quickly cut something up and sew it, unless I’ve sewn it before, that is. πŸ™‚

What would you do? I think I’ll go try a few seams with some scrap fabric and see what they look like before I cut my fabric. 

3 Comments
  1. August 3, 2008 4:41 pm

    Most of my favorite skirts are very similar to this. I serge the seams and then either press to one side and edgestich or coverstitch. Unless it’s polarfleece πŸ˜‰ I really don’t think it’s *that* much extra bulk. The seams might not be extremely noticeable in a print, but they do add a subtle flattering line IMO. Cut as one piece and it just won’t hang the same.

    Lots of great posts over the last few days, BTW. I’ve just been too busy to stop and comment. Loved the “doggles” on the poochie. I don’t think any of mine would stand for those though. LOL!

  2. 2fun4u permalink
    August 3, 2008 5:16 pm

    I read your post and want to add my 2 cents worth. If you eliminate the seams, or even one seam you will change the silhouette of the skirt.

    Then it will be just another skirt.

    All you need to do is sew the seam with a straight stitch and then 3 thread serge as close to that seam as possible, and don’t forget to use that trusty iron.

    Now, “Make it Work”

    Diane
    2fun4u.wordpress.com

  3. Bev permalink
    August 5, 2008 5:30 pm

    So how’s the skirt coming along?

Comments are closed.

