Skip to content

For Some Early Morning Squishyness

August 6, 2008

Well, it’s early morning for me still – I guess anymore 8:00 a.m. is early morning. I am just so tired the past few days, which is to be understood. I’ve been doing a LOT. Last night I slept 11 hours – unheard of normally for me.

Anyhooo, my oldest daughter, Cindy is starting her photography business. I’ve been encouraging her for years, since she clearly has the family talent.

My uncle, Howell Conant – my father’s oldest brother – was the personal, family photographer for Princess Grace of Monaco and family friends with the Grimaldis even after she died. He was the only photographer allowed in the private quarters of Princess Grace when she went to marry Prince Rainier, and he was the only photographer allowed at Caroline’s second wedding. Prior to my uncle’s talent for photography, my grandfather (my dad’s dad) had his own photo studio in Marinette, Wisconsin and I have many historical pictures of early logging towns and such that my grandfather took. Somewhere (well, *I* know where it is) I have a photo of my uncle in the White House with President Kennedy and Jacqueline Kennedy.

So, it goes to say that my daughter would have some of that same talent. She’s purchased a professional camera and is building a collection of lenses, as well as developing her portfolio. And needless to say, she has the best subject matter to practice with. Lucky duck.

Take a look at some of her work on her blog. We’re working to get her professional site set up. It’s good she has a mother who specializes in marketing writing and web content.

5 Comments
  1. Bev permalink
    August 6, 2008 3:22 pm

    Great photography by your uncle, and looks like Cindy is talented as well. I love her black and white photos! And we mustn’t forget that you do perty dern well yourself in that department. I just click and shoot…and it shows….ha. I think you just have to have an “eye” for it.

    Thanks, Bev. I like to think I have the talent too, it’s just that I’m so busy with everything else I do, I don’t have the desire right now – or the need – to make it a business. My daughter has such great subject matter surrounding her (handsome hubby, cute kids) and can use the income – plus, she gets such a thrill out of doing it. I really think it is her passion.

  2. August 7, 2008 4:46 am

    Wow!! Your uncle must have been extremely talented! Life Magazine? Princess Grace?! Unbelievable. I’ve always thought she was one of the most beautiful women in the world, I can’t imagine photographing her! Good Luck to your daughter, I peeked at some of her photos and I too really like the black and whites. Especially the one by the old truck, very cool! Keep us posted.

    I think he was pretty talented. I have his book, signed by him, that he wrote about Princess Grace before he passed away. He, my father, and my other uncle are all gone now. I did get one picture of the three brothers with me at a family reunion in 1992 before my father passed away. I’ll have to dig it out and scan it.

  3. August 7, 2008 9:57 am

    Wow, that’s wicked cool. I agree with Laura. Princess Grace was a beautiful woman. I loved her in the Alfred Hitchcock movie “Rear Window” with James Stewart. Your Uncle did a superb job photographing her.

    Good luck to Cindy with her business. I’m sure with her talent she will do well.

    Joan, Princess Grace is one of my role models. She was always poised, graceful (no pun intended), and a lady – no matter what life threw her way, she was dignified. Grace was the perfect name for her and she embodied it. I think Cindy will do great. I’m eager to help her get going. We found another person operating under my maiden name of Conant – probably a distant cousin. Cindy’s work is so much better – but then, maybe we have rose-colored glasses on. 🙂

  4. August 7, 2008 5:02 pm

    so very cool….your uncle, life mag, your dd…..all very cool. she should check out http://www.lightcrayon.com/ tammy does amazing work, especially when you consider how new she is to the field. best wishes to cindy!

    Teri – I will most definitely send her to see Tammy’s work. She has some great stuff there and some very creative and unusual compositions to her work. Thanks!

  5. August 7, 2008 5:49 pm

    I was wowed by your grandfather, and then I went over to Cindy’s blog. Her photographs are amazing! They’re just beautiful! My favorite was the one of your grandaughter with her tooth just coming in. It was an exciting photograph, just beautiful and silly at the same time. I love her work!

    Thanks, Wendy. I saw her today and told her she needs to peek over here and see what people are saying about her work. She’s so busy with the kids activities, but she did take a couple pictures of me and Evan. I’m not allowed to post them until she puts her watermark on them. Even though she cut off the side of my head in one. I finally can tell I’m skinnier, too. Is that vain of me? LOL.

Comments are closed.

