Skip to content

Took All Day, But..

August 9, 2008

The skirt is almost done.

IMG_5935

IMG_5928

I don’t like how it fits. The skirt is about an inch too short and about four inches too wide at the waist. It took me all day to sew six seams and a fold over waistband for an elastic band. This should have taken me an hour, maximum. I haven’t hemmed the skirt yet. I’m only going to do a rolled hem on it because it’s so short, I can’t afford for it to go shorter. But at least now I know how to alter the pattern so that I can have the next one fit better. The panels need to be slimmer at the top. I cut out a size 24 from the pattern because, with ease, that’s what it said would fit my hips. It’s freaking huge.

I had so much that I had planned to do today for myself, as I had the whole day alone, with no interruptions, all to myself. I was going to finish this skirt, figure out a top to make with it, and then sew some easy curtain panels for my bedroom, and maybe even those reading pillows I’ve promised my daughter. I planned to have a really fun day in the sewing room but it didn’t turn out that way at all.

I think some of what’s wrong with the skirt is that the weight of the knit is a tad too light. It probably would have been better as a top, like I originally planned. Oh well. Live and learn. I think I will try to alter the pattern, so it’s not so big at the waist, and try with a heavier knit. I’ve got some, but right now, I just don’t want to sew. Period. Nothing fits well and my free time is too limited that I don’t want to spend another whole day making a skirt that doesn’t fit.

After last night’s rain, today’s gray weather, and the frustrations with the serger threading, I am just plain depressed. This episode of sewing has not inspired me, nor has it made me feel better. Maybe I’ve lost my mojo.

4 Comments
  1. August 9, 2008 10:37 pm

    in the photos, the skirt looks good. i agree about the length. could you add a hem band at the bottom?

    on the positive side, did you notice how skinny you are in those photos? take a good look. smokin’ hot mamma. πŸ™‚

    if you want patterns that fit, get ottobre woman. πŸ™‚

    I thought about your suggestion of adding a hem band. That’s a good idea. I have a contrasting coral/pink jersey, same weight, that I bought for a top and I think there’s plenty to do a nice 2″ border at the bottom. I”m goign to play with that this morning. I may fold it in half so I don’t have to hem that again, and the added bonus is it may give me the weight in the skirt that I’m looking for.

    Thank you for the compliement too, I sure wasn’t feeling skinny when I took those pictures. I was feeling decidedly fat with an unreasonable fear that I had gained back all 31 pounds this last week.

    Off to look for ottobre patterns…

  2. August 10, 2008 4:32 am

    Ah,, you just need a break.. take some down time. Go sit and soak in a tub somewhere.:D

    Cici, you are right. I needed a break. I did nothing last night but watch TV and read. I should have gone for a walk, but it’s been raining off and on. Rain only adds to my cruddy mood, but today the sun is out – sort of. In between the clouds. πŸ™‚

  3. August 11, 2008 5:16 am

    There’s nothing more depressing than spending way too much time on something that doesn’t work!! I had a BWOF dress that I literally tortured for far too long and it still needed to be tossed. It didn’t help that everyone on pattern review whipped up the same thing in a few hours!

  4. August 12, 2008 6:49 pm

    I agree with Mermaids, from the view we have it looks really cute.

Comments are closed.

