Skip to content

When is sewing is NOT fun?

August 9, 2008

When you are a blind as a bat and can’t thread the friggin’ serger. ARGH!

Seriously. I have just spent the last two hours trying to thread black thread in my serger. The hardest part is threading the left needle. I have to use a stupid magnifying glass, and even then, I can’t see a thing. Finally, I get everything almost right and the upper looper comes unthreaded again. I’m so frustrated. I can’t afford new glasses right now, and I certainly can’t afford a self-threading serger.

Hypothetically speaking, though, if I could afford a self-threading serger, I would go buy it right now. Anyone have one? What model would you recommend? My current model is a Husqvarna (White) 4-thread overlock. It’s decent – when I can get – and keep – it threaded.

Now I’m going to go lie down and cry for a while. Then I’ll try again. I do have the skirt all cut out and ready to sew. I could have been done by now with the right tools.

It’s all about having the right tools.

4 Comments
  1. August 9, 2008 1:12 pm

    I’ve got a Baby Lock Evolve…and love it. The one drawback is the price.

    It sounds like you are pretty frustrated. Maybe threading will go smoother after a break. I hope so. I’ve been where you are now. It’s no fun.

    Hi Judy! Welcome to my blog. Yes, I was pretty frustrated when I posted that. It’s better now and I got the thing threaded. Now, I need to change colors, and hopefully this will go more smoothly.

  2. August 9, 2008 10:33 pm

    i totally identify with the difficulties of threading anything these days. i have some super cheap reading glasses that are stronger than what i would wear for reading. i keep them right by machines….for threading. some people recommend putting a piece of white paper behind the needle to make it easier to see.

    i don’t have a self threading serger. it is the needle threading that gets me. my embroidery machine has a needle threader which is totally sweet.

    getting old ain’t fun.

    Hi Teri, I forgot about my el-cheapo reading glasses. Now, where did I put them? Someday… I keep saying someday… I’m going to have both sewing machine and serger be self-threading! And have my glasses prescription updated. I just need to make the glasses a priority, and I haven’t. Getting my hair done is much more gratifying.

  3. Towanda permalink
    August 10, 2008 8:27 am

    For threading the machine, I recommend Dritz looped needle threaders. It comes in a pack of 6. You can push the thread thru the looper eye and then push the whole thing thru the eye of the machine needle. The looper is about 3 inches long. I got them from Joann’s. It is the best threader that I have ever used with my 50 y.o. eyes.

  4. Bev permalink
    August 10, 2008 12:29 pm

    Another reason I don’t have a serger! My old eyes can barely handle the sewing machine!

Comments are closed.

