Skip to content

Lily’s Been Freaking Me Out

August 10, 2008

My daughter, Stacy, has been away for the last few days, and I’ve had the house to myself – well, me and six pets. Three cats and three ‘huahuas. (Chihuahuas for those of you that don’t know my abbreviation.) Only two of the cats and one of the dogs – Lily – are mine. The rest are my daughters, but when she’s here, she takes care of all three dogs while I work.

So, while she’s been gone, all of them, even the cats, have been ultra clingy. I don’t get that. My two cats seem to want to dig me a new bellybutton by clawing at my tummy while I’m at the computer. Or whenever I’m sitting down, they seem to need to be IN. MY. FACE.

Trixie and Daisy – Stacy’s dogs – are just high maintenance. I have to keep them near me at all times or they whine and howl. For the first two days Stacy was gone, Trixie would sit within view of the front door and stare at it longingly, looking for her mama to come back. I think she realizes she’s not coming back in the next 20 minutes. And every time I go to pet Lily, Daisy has to bounce on my head and get IN. MY. FACE. Literally. Geez.

So, at night, I put them all three up on my bed. This serves several purposes. First, it keeps the bed warm. Second, I always like Lily sleeping with me cuz she’s a snuggle bug. Third, it makes Daisy and Trixie feel better to be close to me and it keeps them contained from running around the house and suddenly forgetting all about being housebroken or being in their kennels and howling and whining all night long.

I usually give them a small chewy when it’s time for bed, as that settles them down. Lately, however, Lily has taken to keeping her chewy in her mouth, mostly to keep it from her sisters, like this:

IMG_5913

Now, imagine, if you will, the only light in the room is from the glow of the TV, which sits behind Lily. Imagine being down at her level and having her stare down and directly at you with this mouth open holding the chewy, which is called a Dingo, by the way.

You get a look sort of like this:

IMG_5914

But in the dark, all you see are two big black eyes, and one big black mouth opening. And she sits there without moving STARING at you. Seriously CREEPS. ME. OUT.

7 Comments
  1. August 10, 2008 8:58 am

    Dingos are Chili’s favorites. The ones with the knots on each end … he plays fetch with himself with the knots. Tosses ’em in the air and runs to catch them. So silly!

    When we first brought him home, he was taking a little nap on the ottoman and he looked so cute all curled up and snoozing that we just had to go over and snuggle him. Except … GRRRrrrr, with teeth. Since this was a new dog, it totally freaked us out … did we get a vicious dog?? We soon learned that if you disturb him while he sleeps, he wakes up with a growl. (I know the feeling.) But as soon as he growls, he then starts licking your face all over because he really didn’t mean it and wants the love. LOL! Dogs are funny.

    The only other time he growls (not at us) is when Dani tries to steal his treats. But he has no problem stealing hers.

  2. August 10, 2008 9:01 am

    Oh, gosh, Debbie, that sounds just like Lily. She’ll straight up take the others’ treats, but they’d better not touch hers. Those Dingos are their favorites. Pricey though. I need to buy them in bulk. LOL. She growls when she sleeps and the others bother her too. She’s such a lovey dog. I never thought I’d be a dog person, but I am. I just don’t like the big, slobbery jump on your chest and drool on you dogs.

  3. VeeDogKnitter permalink
    August 10, 2008 11:49 am

    Too funny! chihuahuas must be the hummingbirds of the dog species. If they were any bigger, they would be seriously dangerous! ;o)

  4. Bev permalink
    August 10, 2008 12:28 pm

    Ok, I laughed out loud at that last picture! Creepy, but darned cute.

  5. August 11, 2008 4:51 am

    speaking of clingy cats…had the strangest thing happen on Friday. I was in a shop that the owners keep two cats in…one who runs if he sees you, and another who will sit still and let you pet him. Well the petable one is up on a table, and reaches his front two paws out onto my shoulders like he is gonna give me a hug…then climbs up my chest and wrapped himself around my neck like a scarf. Ive never seen a cat act like that to strangers.

  6. August 11, 2008 6:26 am

    I finally let my cat Chlorox sleep with me the other night after having banned her from my room a couple of months ago. She’s normally very sweet and lies very still when in bed with me but suddenly she started acting like an Alpha Cat. With narrowed eyes she would strike at me in a snake like fashion and it was kind of scary. It grew worse with time and I finally banished her. She behaved the other night but I don’t know how long the good behavior will last!

  7. August 12, 2008 6:37 pm

    Lily looks so adorable (and familiar!) with that chewy in her mouth. I like the way it makes her little lip stick out.

Comments are closed.

