Skip to content

What is it with sports celebrities?

August 12, 2008

Can they not make up their minds? Are they just narcissistic? When they retire, why do they have to come back?

Specifically, Brett Favre. You can read the Fox report of his “retirement” in March, 2008, here: http://msn.foxsports.com/nfl/story/7870944

Now, football season is starting back up (YAY!) and I read that he’s playing for the New York Jets. WTH? You can read a bit about that here, if you are so inclined. http://www.usatoday.com/sports/football/nfl/jets/2008-08-10-favre-mainbar_N.htm

Was Favre’s “retirement” just a temper tantrum because he lost the Super Bowl? Is the rumor true that the Green Bay Packers didn’t really want him back? Is he like mold that you just can’t cut off the cheese? (Yes, pun intended.) Anyway, I was looking forward to a season of not having to hear about Favre this, Favre that. He annoys the heck out of me, for some reason. I don’t know – maybe it’s because he seems so false to me and that I’m forced to watch skip past him on the dumb T-Mobile commercials. It’s as bad as the Michael Jordan retire-not retire scenario. Good grief, men. Make a decision and stick to it. Do you not have any you-know-what?

Now, the Seahawks… Lovin’ it.

I can’t wait to go to the game with my mom this Saturday, don my official NFL Lofah Tatupu jersey, and hoot and hollah!

Go Hawks.

5 Comments
  1. Julie permalink
    August 12, 2008 10:43 am

    I live in WI and I agree with you about the Favre stuff-let it go all ready!

  2. August 12, 2008 2:30 pm

    Have a great time at the game! I’m sure you will. 🙂

    I haven’t had to follow Brett Favre’s career, but I agree with you about these athletes who fake-retire. Is it just a stunt or what? Too many of them do it.

  3. August 12, 2008 3:45 pm

    I have to admit I am clueless when it comes to sports. If I can’t sleep, all I have to do is put a football game on and I’m out like a light in two minutes.

  4. August 12, 2008 4:01 pm

    Well, everyone, I do have to admit that on a Sunday afternoon, in the fall, I love to fall asleep on the couch to the sound of the football game. Except the Hawks of course. But I found out today that my son-in-law likes Favre, so I’ll have to be respectful of that. I still am entitled to my opinon, but I’m told we’ll probably be rooting for the Jets at some point this year as well.

  5. August 12, 2008 6:35 pm

    I love to fall asleep on the couch listening to football. It reminds of when I was a kid and my dad would watch the game on Sunday afternoons. 🙂

Comments are closed.

