Skip to content

Update on the Floral Skirt and My Gimpy Daughter

August 14, 2008

I decided I like this skirt after all. I put a lettuce hem on it (using the rolled hem setting on my serger.) It actually looks rather good, and as I lose more weight, the length will automatically grow, as there will be less hip fluff to raise it up. Hehe. So today I’m wearing it to a client meeting today with my only decent black top I own (which, incidentally, looks to be a tad too big around the tummy, in these pics), other than a camisole.

I will make this skirt again, but next time, I think I’ll add more flare to the bottom of each panel, and add about one inch to the length. I sewed it almost entirely with the serger, except for the waistband, which I fastened down with a narrow zig-zag stitch.

After my meeting, I’m off to dinner with my mom, her roommate, and other friends at The Keg – otherwise known as “The Instantly Gain 50 Pounds Restaurant”. I’ll be having either a very small steak and steamed veggies only, or a salad with all the dressing on the side. Probably the latter because if they have a 6oz steak, I only need to cut it in half.

Here are some pictures my daughter took of me in my outfit, and some pictures I took of her with her crutches and ankle brace. She fell a couple nights ago and we were afraid she had broken her ankle, but thankfully, no. Just a very bad sprain. So, she’ll need these crutches for a couple days.

IMG_5946

IMG_5947

IMG_5951

IMG_5954

9 Comments
  1. Bev permalink
    August 14, 2008 4:30 pm

    Aah, you are looking so good! You look great in that outfit (and think the length is just fine)…..love the pink shoes!

    Sorry about Gimpy’s accident. Speaking of experience, a badly sprained ankle takes forever to get over….longer than a broken one! I had trouble with one for so long in h.s. that I got the nickname “Rot Foot”. Ha! Anyway, hope she is able to maneuver those crutches….I hated those things!

    Hee Hee. I have to have PINK shoes, you know?? LOL. I once fell down a flight of stairs – going backward, so I sort of fell on my face, as I was carrying a table top – and sprained my ankle badly. To this date, that ankle still has issues and has something wrong with a couple bones inside. I was on crutches for a couple days and boy are they a pain in the armpit. They’re horrible! She just needs to pace herself now so it can heal.

  2. Bev permalink
    August 14, 2008 4:31 pm

    Man, I’m having trouble with words tonight for some reason! I meant “speaking FROM experience”….geesh.

    That’s okay, Bev. I knew what you meant. 🙂

  3. August 14, 2008 5:10 pm

    The skirt turned out great. You look awesome. You and your daughter look a lot alike. You are a HOTT grandma for sure.

    Thanks, Cici. You should see my other daughter and me together. We are told we look like sisters. Thank you for the sweet compliment!

  4. August 14, 2008 6:16 pm

    look at you all skinny and cute in that skirt!

    Thank you, Teri. It was a rough week this last week, so I hadn’t been feeling quite so skinny, but I think I’m past that little speed bump.

  5. August 15, 2008 7:12 am

    I think you look fabulous! The skirt looks great and you were definately out soaking up our little heat wave! g

    Thanks, Gaylen. It definitely helps to work from home all the time, then I can sit out in the sun to eat my lunch, and “work”.

  6. August 15, 2008 9:06 pm

    You are looking so good.and created a great site.

    Thanks!

  7. August 16, 2008 12:26 pm

    You are looking awesome. Your daughter’s leg, not so good. Poor thing. The skirt is great too but it’s only because you’re wearing it.

    You’re so sweet, Joan. Thank you. Her leg is much better now, thank goodness. We are all happy it was not broken.

  8. August 18, 2008 4:03 am

    I think the skirt length is perfect!

    Thanks, Curious. 🙂

  9. August 18, 2008 4:05 pm

    You do look awesome! I’m glad you gave that skirt another chance, I always thought it was really pretty.

    Thanks, Wendy. It’s prettier in person and the fabric is so soft and swingy. I do like it now. I guess it goes to show that I should reserve judgment until it’s fully finished.

Comments are closed.

