Skip to content

Fishy, Fishy in the Lake.

August 16, 2008

It’s been hot, hot, hot here and I love, love, love it. You won’t find me complaining about the 90 degree heat even with no air conditioning. No way, Jose. Even Friday night, after going out to dinner with my mom and friends, it was really warm out – probably 72 or so – and I loved it. Aaaah. My body loves it, my soul loves it, and my grandkids love it.

IMG_5961 They love it because their grandma takes them to the beach to swim. Yesterday, Cindy and Cody were moving into a newer home about 2 miles closer to me (smart kids) so I watched the kids. All THREE of them. Alone. By myself. We had planned to go to the beach earlier in the day, but naps that were required for good attitudes and listening skills delayed our arrival at said beach. Anyway, finally we get there – oh, about 5 p.m. – but it was still warm and sunny enough for my little fishies to have a good hour and a half of fun.

When I was a young mom, I thought nothing of hanging out on the beach and watching the kids swim. But nearly 30 years later, it’s harder.My back issues and my fibromyalgia make it more tiring to chase after active children, but I put that all aside and love every second of it. I figure, I can recover the next day. Anyway, I had a baby by my side, and two in the water. Talk about needing three pairs of eyes. It was hard to make sure Evan didn’t pick up sand or grass and eat it, and hard to keep an eye on the older two so they didn’t paddle out too far where I couldn’t get them.IMG_5964

The “beach” we go to is really lakefront. The swimming area is enclosed by a dock that you can walk out and around on, and on the other side of the dock are the boats and Sea-Doos having fun making waves. The swimming area is really quite shallow about halfway out to the dock, but still, I wasn’t in a swimsuit and how would I run out and get them? Leave Evan alone on the beach? Needless to say, I was a Nervous Nellie and kept harping at them to not go too far out. I often held even and stood in the water knee-deep, so they could hear me. I love these two little fishies – the taned ones with bathing suits on.

IMG_5966 

Today, I slept in (much needed!) and am getting my nails done, then going to pick up my mom and take her to the Seahawks pre-season game. It’s going to be hot again, so I think I’m leaving my hot, official Lofah Tatupu (51) NFL jersey at home and donning a nice cool knit top and denim capris that I bought yesterday, as an alternative to shorts. If I weren’t going to the Hawks game, I’d be sewing up a new pink top to wear with my new skirt, plus a couple more of those skirts. They sew up so quickly, now that I have the pattern figured out. Plus, I’m going to need a new wardrobe for my trip to visit my brother in just about three weeks. Yikes!

Ok, off to get ready! Hope everyone is enjoying the summer. Here in Seattle, we’re just getting started and I hope this weather carries right through September. It usually does.

6 Comments
  1. August 16, 2008 9:53 am

    looks like a fabulous day! i totally agree with you about the warm weather….love it.

    Gosh, I must have been busy. I can’t believe I haven’t responded back to these comments and it’s 3 days later! It was a tiring – but fun – day.

  2. August 16, 2008 10:11 am

    When I am a grandma I will only be taking care of one child and hopefully I can keep up. I may have to get a long leash for it so I can haul it in and not be chasing after it. I hope I am up to the task. I forgot how much kids move around and how fast they are.
    I’m glad you had a good day. It sure looks like the kids did.

    The kids had a blast. I’m glad they took a nap first.

  3. Cherie permalink
    August 16, 2008 10:39 am

    What a cool, pun intended, grammy you are! Nice post!

    Thanks, Cherie.

  4. Bev permalink
    August 16, 2008 9:04 pm

    Aw, beautiful kids in beautiful sunny weather…..and the lake! I miss that! We used to live in the water when I was a kid because we lived on an inlet of a lake. And, when my kids were young, we lived at the pool…..loved it.

    I can imagine you were tensed up at times, tho, watching all three kids at once! Yikes! But it still had to be a grand time for all! I bet everybody got a great night’s sleep!

    I was tense, but just being by the lake was fun. I think I was more concerned about all the strange people around – and there were some strange folks there. There were women my age with sagging bodies baring far too much in bikinis – made me just a bit nauseous.

  5. Bev permalink
    August 16, 2008 9:05 pm

    Ok, I need to go to bed! My comment had one!too!many!exclamation!points!! hahaha

  6. sanderlou permalink
    August 19, 2008 4:52 pm

    LOFA

    Yeah, yeah, whatevvuh… LOL. Thanks, Cody. 🙂

    Dude…. Where does it say Lofa in this post. You are just giving me a hard time and making me laugh. I’m glad you’re reading the blog though.

Comments are closed.

