Skip to content

Water Hurts, Dontcha Know?

August 19, 2008

This weekend my daughter, Cindy and her husband moved to a different house (closer to me – yay!) that has a big jungle gym with a slide in the back yard. It’s been hot here this last week – well, hot according to Seattle standards – and the kids were very inventive. Cindy told me that they had this idea themselves to put a hose at the top of the slide and turn it into a water slide. I got to see this in action Sunday. Here’s a montage of video clips from their escapades. I find it hilarious.

They were quite inventive with how to make the landing softer at the bottom of the slide too. Pay particular attention to what the kids say when Elise has Cayden move the floaty to the bottom of the slide. My daughter and son-in-law raise very polite children, I must say. 

And I have no idea what the purpose is of the upside down umbrella under the jungle gym.

(For some reason, the quality of the video degrades when you upload it to YouTube. It’s crisp and clear on my computer. If anyone knows a way around this with WordPress, let me know.)

 

5 Comments
  1. August 19, 2008 9:30 am

    Oh I loved hearing their little voices in conversation, squealing and laughing…and being so polite to each other! And they were so busy in the moment, weren’t they? Totally lost in the serious business of having an absolute blast!

    That structure is fantastic, what a wicked-cool setup that is.

    I’m glad to know it’s not just my videos that lose quality when uploaded to YouTube. In spite of the fact my camera cost $30, the videos are sharp and clear and perfect on my computer, and it all goes to hell when it shows up on YouTube. Being the serious filmmaker I am (LOL), it’s kind of discouraging really.

    Children really are a lesson in how to live in the moment, aren’t they? I love the excitement in Elise’s voice and her squeals of laughter. I love Cayden’s “Owwww” and “It’s DOLD” (cold). The look on Elise’s face at the end is priceless too.

    The whole set up of this new place is great for Cindy. The kids can play outside and she can sit on the deck with Evan, or I can watch them, and they are surrounded by lots of kids the same ages living nearby. That’s just awesome. Unlike the trailer/suspected methlab that was nearby their old house – and which had a ghost, we think. At least Cayden told us there was one and I believe him.

    There has to be a way to preserve the video quality without using YouTube. I’m going to explore that when I have a chance.

  2. August 19, 2008 9:31 am

    By the way, I like you BMX-ing at the beach in your Meez. 🙂

    And notice that it’s PINK. Hee hee.

  3. August 19, 2008 10:44 am

    That looked like fun. I wish I had a giant waterslide in my yard but it would have to have a soft landing pad. I still have butt problems.

    The kids look like they were having so much fun. I miss the sounds of children laughing. I heard Elise say thank you. That’s so sweet.

    It’s nice that they are closer to you too.

    And Cayden says “Your Delcome” LOL. I love listening to them. Their exchange of pleasantries was all unprompted, which I think is totally cool. They wanted me to go down the slide too and couldn’t figure out why I couldn’t. I didn’t think I could bend over to get through that tiny opening. I let Evan dip his toes in the water. He LOVES water.

  4. August 19, 2008 11:28 am

    so cute!

  5. Bev permalink
    August 19, 2008 4:43 pm

    I loved how Cayden went “ow ow ow” and then still went running back up the ladder. Ha. And Elise is such a good big sis, isn’t she? Adorable. I miss the sounds of kids playing in the back yard. All the ones (including ours) have grown up and left….sigh.

    I kinda like ghosts. But, am sure the family is much happier in their new home!

Comments are closed.

