Skip to content

Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 6

August 21, 2008

Oh. My. Goodness. This was a very interesting – and very entertaining – episode. This week, Season 4’s Chris March returned with an entourage of drag queens as models for the contestants. (I’m linking to Wikipedia here because I know nothing about drag queens, really.)

The challenge? Pretty obvious. Create an outfit (costume) for a drag queen, and each contestant got to pick their “model”. I think the names cracked me up the most: Hedda Lettuce (dressed in green, of course), Farrah Moan (think pheromones, or I did), Annida Greenkard (a Latin queen). It went on and I don’t recall them all. (And again, if I had a TV card, I’d have screen snaps of all of them for you.) They were all pretty fabulous.

Guest Judge this week was RuPaul. Again, linking to her because to try to define her would again show my ignorance. Ha!

On to the runway…

This episode gave every contestant the opportunity to be dramatic and go completely over-the-top with their designs. Some of them got it, and some of them didn’t. Even if you’re straight, you could be entertained by this.

I think the funniest contestant to watch was Joe. He’s as straight as they come (married with two daughters) but the way he approached this was impressive. When first talking to his model, he looked terrified, but later, I think he just relaxed and joined in the fun. He said he’d just approach it like creating a Halloween costume for his daughter. Oh my. I hope his daughter never wears an outfit like he made.

So, on that note, here’s Joe’s outfit – and the winner of the challenge. Joe also wins immunity for next week’s challenge. How fitting is it (no pun intended) that the winner was a straight guy? I mean, that he understood what was required and executed it better, listened to his client, and just rocked it. She looks like Ann-Margaret in a pink sequined sailor’s outfit. The judges talked about how the belt hid the “candy” just right. I’ll say.

A couple honorable mentions that were up for the win.

Korto – I’m going to say now that I think Korto will be in the final four. We’ll see. The skirt here is removable. The model said she liked “fire” colors – oranges, reds, yellows, and Korto went with that – literally. I see the plumes off the shoulder as flames. The model just loved this outfit. So did the judges. At the end of the runway, the model takes off the skirt, and flips it over her shoulder. You could tell they were all having a blast with this.

Terri – She’s another one that I predict will be in the final four. She and Korto appear to be strong contenders. They both listen and do good work. Terri nailed her model’s persona, I think. She was hotly discussed as a potential winner, but missed it once again. Michael Kors commented that he wanted these boots for himself. Wow. The sleeves, when the model extended her arms, were so dramatic, very kimono-ish. I have to say, though, that I didn’t understand this persona as well as I did many of the others.

Blayne. You should have rocked this one, for sure. But not quite. The “wings” drooped on the runway and I don’t see too much “drag queen” about this, or even dramatic and over the top. I just see two silly pink wings. He didn’t get auf’d over it, but he didn’t impress the judges too much either. It’s all pretty cliche’ even down to the fishnet stockings and platforms.

Suede –  At one point, the way the editors were focusing on Suede, I thought he would be out, but no. His model’s name was Hedda Lettuce. Suede talked about how his grandfather came to him in a dream and told him to put miniature bib lettuce designs all over the costume. So he made gloves and put the baby bib lettuce rosette thingies up the edge of them. There was a bit of contention between Hedda and Suede when Hedda asked Suede if he was too lazy to make sleeves. Even Tim said that was mean. Overall, the outfit is okay and fits the persona. I was worried about the little lettuce rosettes on his/her sleeves, but it worked. Not overly dramatic or over the top, however. I wonder if he’d made a hat that looked like a huge head of iceberg lettuce, if that would have been too much. Hmmm. Probably.

Leann – So little was said about this that I had to rewind to see what she actually made. She continued on with her folded and inverted flaps of stuff, just a bit more geometric this time. It’s okay. I love the aqua, but unless she learns to do something different, I don’t think she’ll be in the final four.

Stella – what happened to you? You could have won this one. You could have really taken your edgy “leathuh” fettish to the edge and really nailed this. This looks like a strange version of Cruella DeVille to me mixed with schoolgirl plaid. Uninteresting. At least Stella escaped the bottom three. 

Jerrell’s design. Look closely at this model. To me, she looks like Liza Minelli in a putrid green linebacker’s outfit. Seriously. She looks like she has shoulder pads under that collar. The collar flips up into a Star Wars like look. I don’t see where Jerell was going with this. I don’t see “over the top” in this look at all or even remotely drag queen. The judges said the dress was just too long. And man, can I have legs like that? That’s unfair.

Kenley, Kenley. Talk about unmemorable and forgettable. This was the first model on the runway, and at the end of the show, I asked myself, wait! What did Kenley do? I rewound far enough and saw this. She once again went with her tiresome 40s glamour shtick and this is what she came up with. She said her inspiration was part Marilyn Monroe, and called this liquid silver. Really? She looks like a black and white peacock. There’s nothing creative about this outfit at all, in my opinion. It’s a simple straight dress with a slit, and a ton of feathers sticking off the halter top. That must have been awkward to put on.

Keith. Going from last week’s win to the bottom two. My prediction is he is next to go – unless he makes a drastic departure from the shredded fabric aesthetic. None of the judges liked this and Keith thought there was nothing wrong with it. In fact, if I recall correctly, RuPaul chided him for making excuses.

Daniel – I called it! I predicted last week he’d be the next to go, and he was. He was apparently going for a Latin flavor, and all I see is sherbet poufiness. There’s nothing remotely Latin about this but more like a junior prom dress gone wrong. A closeup of the bodice shows it wasn’t even well made. I’m not sad to see him go. He was totally clueless as to why he was auf’d.

So, here’s where we stand with the contestants.

PR_Designers_Ep6

Which designs did you like the best? Did you think this was an interesting challenge, or would you have preferred to see something more traditional with regards to design? Do you think the judges were reaching for something new? Was this too far out, or just perfect?

Let me know!

Previous episode recaps are here:

View Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 5

View Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 4

View Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 3

View Project Runway – Season 5, Episode 2

View Project Runway – Season 5, Episode 1

11 Comments
  1. August 21, 2008 3:50 pm

    I think this was their necessary and usual really creative, out-of-this-world challenges. There’s always one each season (for instance, last year, it was the wrestling challenge). It was an interesting challenge but I actually found this episode to be pretty boring. I don’t know what it is about this season!

    Melissa, now that you mention it, I think you’re right that they do have a wild challenge each season. I’d forgotten about that. Hopefully it won’t be so boring as we get closer to the end.

  2. 2fun4u permalink
    August 21, 2008 5:18 pm

    I love your recaps, every week. I think you and I agree everytime. I hate to say it though, I am very disappointed in this season. So I’ve been watching Progect Runway Australia on youtube, and am enjoying it. Thought I mention it to you I think you might agree.

    Have a Fabulous Day
    Diane

    Hi Diane – wow, that is so sweet of you to say that. Thank you. I’m glad you enjoy them. I should check out the Australia version and see what it’s about as well.

  3. August 21, 2008 6:18 pm

    I have to agree with you again as well. I think you are also right about Keith, he’ll be out next week. Did you notice Heidi didn’t say “Auf Wiedersehen”.. what happened did she forget?? did she do it purposely??. I really think Korto should have won, but I think the judges wanted to give some of the others hope, he’s definetly going to be in the final 4. Last week the previews shows a lot, this week the previews showed very little. I am having fun waiting for your reviews. I actually didn’t get to see the show until tonight. The cable went out 15 minutes into watching it last night. Thank goodness my daughter tapes it.:D

    Cici- Hmmm. I missed Heidi saying that. I’ll have to play it back and see. I’m glad you’re enjoying my reviews. I really appreciate the feedback too. Wow. I never really expected anyone to get a whole lot out of them, so thank you.

  4. Bev permalink
    August 21, 2008 6:56 pm

    I pretty much agree with you, except I hated Korto’s red outfit with those tentacles! heh I love red but ick ick.

    I dunno….I was dreading it but it ended up kinda fun. Chris, as much as I like him, was just a tad weird on the runway for me. I thought he had excellent critiques of the designers on the walk-through with Tim, tho.

    I agree that half of them missed the mark on this challenge. I loved Joe’s and was glad he won. She/he really worked the runway in that pinkilicious (tm Blayne) outfit, didn’t she/he?

    Bev – those tentacles are a bit weird, aren’t they? LOL. I didn’t know what to think with the whole drag queen thing but it ended up being okay and not too far over the top for us straight folk. That’s a whole genre of society I just don’t get, that’s for sure. Not that I’m passing judgment – I’m not – it’s just I’m so far removed from it so I don’t understand it.

  5. August 22, 2008 7:18 pm

    Sorry to have missed that show. BTW, my blog gets about 300 hits a day from people who search Drag Queens. I once referred to a ROL girl as a drag queen, so, there you go.

    As for the outfits, most were so unoriginal. I looked at the pictures, muttering to myself ” Hairspray,” “101 Dalmations,” and “Cyndi Lauper.” Sigh. I do like the winners the best, however, probably because it looked like something I’d like to wear on Halloween, which is funny, since his approach was Halloween wear for his daughter!

    So, what’s a ROL girl?

  6. August 24, 2008 3:21 pm

    wow you make me want to watch that show…they should hire you!

    Ive been a secret RuPaul fan for the past 12 years. I had no idea that she(?) was that old…I thought she was in her early 30s.

    Thanks, VV. Feel free to let them know with a link to my site… I’ll cut you in a percentage of the profit as a finder fee.

  7. August 26, 2008 11:52 am

    Great post, yet again! I thought this was a fun challenge, but I always got a kick out of Chris March. And wasn’t it amazing to see the ‘models’ out of costume?

    I am glad to see Daniel go. I just can’t feel sorry for the whiners who complain ‘but this is not what I do!’ I mean, they do know what this show is, right!?

  8. pampi permalink
    August 30, 2008 11:10 am

    heidi didn’t say “auf wiedershen”. but daniel did it first, so heidi didn’t say that.

Trackbacks

  1. Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 7 « Little Miss Sew N Sew
  2. Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 8 « Little Miss Sew N Sew
  3. Bookmarks about Edge

Comments are closed.

