Skip to content

Fun in the Sewing Room

August 23, 2008

I can’t ever say I can’t sew because my grandson’s are visiting. Nope, not ever. Because today they came over and I babysat while their parents went and helped their friends move, and I managed to get a skirt made. Cayden was an absolute doll. I put him at my cutting table with paper and weights and marking chalk, but his favorite “toy” was my giant magnifying glass. He also insisted on climbing up on my lap and helping me sew. But boy is he smart. In two shakes, he learned how that foot pedal worked and when I turned my back wanted to press it and make the machine go.  I guess I’ll have to find a boy (and toy) version of a little machine if he’s going to be in my sewing room very often.

“Damma, I tan help you! Let me try!”

IMG_6048

“Purty fabric, Damma. Pease, me have some?”

IMG_6055

IMG_6056

And sweet Evan. He loved watching his brother, but most of the time he was here, he slept.

IMG_6036

IMG_6038

After sewing and Evan’s nap, we walked up to Safeway to get a Jamba Juice and back – a good two miles in 80 degree heat. I think I sweated off 5 pounds. The stroller my daughter has for the kids is one of those great ones that you can pull behind a bike. It’s awesome. I wish they had those when my kids were little.

Finished up the skirt – it’s that turquoise color fabric Cayden is holding in the picture, and the same pattern as the black floral I just made. Now I’m tracing out an Ottobre pattern skirt from the 02/2008 issue. I’ll be making it out of the turquoise and black on white cotton I recently purchased.

image

Later….it’s almost date time. 🙂 More on that later too.

5 Comments
  1. August 23, 2008 5:03 pm

    oooh…can’t wait to hear all about the date! hope is a nice guy and you have a fabulous time.

    Teri – A little on the date soon, he IS a nice guy, and I had a great time.

  2. kaylee2 permalink
    August 23, 2008 7:26 pm

    OH you have a date????? You arent married right?

    No, Kaylee, I’m not married. Hee hee.

  3. August 25, 2008 6:46 am

    So adorable: Cayden and that magnifying glass, Evan gripping the wheel of his…I have no idea what that vehicle is. But it’s cute and looks like fun.

    Did you bike up to Safeway with the bike stroller thing, or do you push it? Either way you’re like Superwoman.

    Wendy – Evan’s vehicle is a Jumperoo. It’s awesome. The seat is suspended by springs and he jumps up and down in it, and the little things around him make great sounds and flash lights. We walked to Safeway, so I pushed the bike stroller thing. But someday I’ll have that bike. I’m hoping by October to have the money saved for it.

  4. August 25, 2008 9:55 am

    Ok, I’m waiting on ‘pins and needles’ for your date info!! I have to admit though that after I met Hans, and then we went on our official first date, I was a little disappointed. I remember that he took everything I said so seriously and didn’t get some of my jokes (I do have a wierd sense of humor). He’s since then told me that he was so excited that I agreed to go out with him that he just didn’t know what to say or how to act! Against my better judgement I went out with him again and the rest is history! 4 years later and I’m still crazy about him!

    Laura, did you and Hans meet online? I have another friend who met her husband online. I guess as another poster here said to a different post, online helps you weed some of them out without having to sit through dinner first. LOL. It’s clear from your blog Hans is a great guy for you. 🙂

  5. August 25, 2008 12:25 pm

    No, we didn’t meet on line, and my July 21 post of this year tells the little story of how we met. I don’t think in one million years that we would have matched up on line. I doubt a man with 2 masters degrees was really thinking, Hmm, I’d like to meet a divorced waitress with three kids!!! But we did, and it works!

Comments are closed.

