Skip to content

Saturday Morning Sewing & Pattern Search

August 23, 2008

My plan this weekend was to sew, sew, sew! But as always, you know what happens to the best laid plans. Anyway, I am sewing this morning. I need a new skirt, and since I’ve figured out the last one I made looks good on me – and I feel good in it – I’m going to try to whip out another one.

Sewing Pattern Divas…. I need your help!

IMG_6035 I got this top at Target the other day and it’s awesome. I wore it to Hancock’s yesterday, and the sales lady said she’d seen a pattern for the exact same top, but she couldn’t remember where. I’ve only got this good picture of the top, so I’ll try to describe it better.

Now you might say – what? That’s just a cross-over front top. Well, yes, but….

It’s got a slight wrap to the top – probably crosses over about 3″ in the center there, and pulled together with some elastic. There are no gathers under the bust either.

The key feature, however is that the bodice has princess seams (I think that’s what you call the vertical seams that come down over the bust line.) It is self faced and tucked into the seam – that is, the two front center pieces are just folded over and stitched into that long vertical seam, which is then stitched into the empire waistline seam.

Now, if I can’t find a pattern for it, I had bought two sizes of this because I wasn’t sure which I liked, and the large size actually had richer, more saturated colors of the same print. I may just not return the top and deconstruct it and make my own pattern.

But before I do that, I am asking all of you if you know what pattern most closely resembles this. Remember, that princess seam on the bust line is the key. I looked last night and couldn’t find anything close.

So what is the new skirt going to be, you ask?

Well, I found a soft aqua/turquoise solid poly jersey and I’m just going to make a plain skirt with another lettuce hem to wear with this top. This top looks hot on me, and tonight I NEED TO LOOK HOT! WHY?????

Because I have a date.

Yup, you heard me right. A real, live date, with someone tall, handsome, and charming. Wish me luck and that I don’t screw this up or that he doesn’t stand me up or anything. What will be, will be – and I’ll tell you more later.

Meanwhile, take a look at the bundle of squishyness (the smaller male) over on my daughter’s blog. Evan really is going to be a hottie like his daddy and mommy are.

Later! I have to get that fabric cut out before the little boys arrive as I’m watching them while my daughter and son help their best friends move into their first new home as homeowners! Congrats Josh and Tiffany! I can’t wait to see your place.

4 Comments
  1. August 23, 2008 9:06 am

    You started losing me with all the sewing stuff. I don’t know one stitch from another but then I came to the best part.

    YOU HAVE A DATE!! That is awesome. With a real guy!! Oh, I hope you have a great time. I’ll pray that he isn’t a dumbass but I doubt if he is cause he chose you. I can’t wait to hear about it. I’m sure you’ll look hot!!!

    See, Joan, you’re going to have to keep reading through the sewing stuff. I hide gems in there sometimes. hee hee. And you will hear about it tomorrow! I sure hope he’s not a dumbass… so far I’ve had coffee with him and he seems really cool.

  2. August 23, 2008 9:28 am

    I will do a pattern search, but I’m sure you searched all the usuals…maybe it’s OOP? Congratulations on your date…hope it turns out to be fabulous like you are. Mary

    Thanks, Mary. Do let me know if you find it, but I think since I love this top so much, I may just deconstruct the extra one I have and absorb the extra sizing in the seam allowances (by not adding any additional SA.)

  3. melanie permalink
    August 23, 2008 11:30 am

    I just bought a pattern the other day that is similar. Of course, it doesn’t have the princess seaming, and it has slight gathers at the bust. However, it can definitely serve as a guide, and you can make adjustments to your liking. There are a bunch of pieces that I love, and I always think, “If ONLY I had a pattern that is similar, I can mess around with it enough to make a passable copy!”

    The pattern I bought is New Look 6515, and I just picked it up at Wal-Mart sewing department, so it isn’t out of print yet. Check it out. Hope it works for you, or you find something better and closer to what you need!

    Hi Melanie. I’d seen that pattern, and although it’s close, it’s not quite what I’m looking for. You are right though – it could certainly serve as a guide. Perhaps I could morph it with a top that does have the princess seam that I’m looking for – the seam starts from the armhole and goes into the empire waist.

  4. Bev permalink
    August 23, 2008 1:45 pm

    A Date! Boy, you snuck that in on us! Yay! Hope you have a fabulous time tonight!

    Cute top, too.

    I did sneak that in, didn’t I? I’m so devilish sometimes. Hee hee. I’ll update you all as much as I can tomorrow…

Comments are closed.

