Skip to content

The Date….

August 25, 2008

You all are so sweet how you’re excited about my date. Even my kids were excited for me. I won’t keep you in suspense any longer, but I won’t say too much either for a few reasons, mostly because it’s just too early to tell anything other than it was a great date.

So, since I didn’t take pictures, I’ll use stock photos.

First, he met me with some of these (not an exact replica, but you get the idea):

Summer,Arrangement,Pastel Colored,Holiday,Mothers Day,Gift,Daisy Family,Variation,Wrapped,Plastic,Tissue Paper,Color Image,Yellow,Lavender Coloured,Vibrant Color,Multi Colored,Bright,Flower Arrangement,Bouquet,Spring,Season,Purple,Pink,Delphinium,Blue,Orange,Lily,White,Snapdragon,Single Flower,Flower,Brightly Lit,Bunch of Flowers,Bunch,Daisy,Gerbera Daisy,Beauty In Nature,Green,Petal,Flower Head,Copy Space

We went to dinner and sat outside in the sun and laughed a lot. He has some amazing stories to tell and kept me laughing. (Again, not an exact replica – there were no beachfront and palm trees on the horizon. The chairs definitely weren’t as comfortable as those in the picture, but the scenery I had to look at (him) was definitely easy on the eyes.)

Coffee,Porch,Gourmet,Dinner Party,Fine Dining,Sea,Lush Foliage,Real Estate,Retirement,Tourist Resort,Pampering,Patio,Chair,Wind,Heat,Tropical Climate,Vacations,After Work,Cocktail,Picnic,Clean,Nobody,Outdoors,Meal,Celebration,Cafe,Luxury,Looking At View,Scenics,Comfortable,Relaxation,Tranquil Scene,Table,Place Setting,Diner,Restaurant,Romance,Blue,Perfection,Idyllic,Beauty In Nature,Beautiful,Summer,Sunlight,Sun,Umbrella,Dining,Palm Tree,Water

After dinner, we went to a dueling piano bar for some live music in a nearby town. He’d not been to this one before, so the results were not his fault. Where he originally wanted to take me didn’t have live music on Saturdays any longer. It started out great with songs from America and Elton John, but after a while the piano dudes switched up the lyrics in the songs. It had turned too raunchy and I felt like we were witnessing a bad bachelorette party nightmare. Again, not his fault at all, but also not what a couple on their first “date” needs – well, at least, not this girl.

And there was some of this on his initiative…

 20s,18-19 Years,Mid Adult,Mid Adult Couple,Young Couple,Holding Hands,Southern European Descent,Affectionate,Heterosexual Couple,Togetherness,Bonding,Love,Coastline,Valentine\'s Day,Lifestyles,Dating,Caucasian,Loving,Beach,Water\'s Edge,Romance,Married,Clothing,Flirting,Husband,Holding,Walking,Couple,Adult,People,Casual Clothing,Women,Sea,Young Adult,Unity,Sunlight,Sun,Human Hand,Wife,Sand,Men,Two People

And we have another date planned for next weekend. That’s all I’m saying for now. But… I’m happy about this turn of events in my life and the old saying “When you quit looking and focus on making yourself happy…” is true, but the saying “They won’t come knocking at your door” isn’t exactly true, either. This one did literally land in my lap(top) and found me first. God has an incredible sense of humor.

(Edited to add: The photo in my header is of the flowers I got. How did he know I liked purple?)

6 Comments
  1. Bev permalink
    August 25, 2008 2:25 pm

    Now THAT sounds like a fabulous start! Yay for the flowers and the great idea of a piano bar. I’d have been v-e-r-y uncomfortable with off color stuff, too….why do so many things have to be like that? Things can be entertaining and funny without all those inuendos or outright raunch.

    Anyway, so happy you had a good time and that he was 2nd date worthy!

    Thanks, Bev. I think the raunchyness made him uncomfortable too. It was very awkward. He’s definitely 2nd date worthy.

  2. August 25, 2008 3:03 pm

    Glad the first date went so well and hopefully date number 2 will be even better!!!! Yay for You!!! Mary

    Thanks, Mary!

  3. August 25, 2008 5:41 pm

    Oh, how well I remember a date I had a few years ago (before I met Hans). It was with a really nice man who was in town visiting his family. Anyway we went to a comedy act with his sister and her husband and a lot of friends. I should have known when I saw the name of the entertainer that we were in trouble. Dr. Dirty. Yes, that was his name, and yes, he was! Unbelievable filth spewed from this man all night long and I’m no prude, believe me! My poor date was mortified. He suggested we go take a walk and once we got outside he appologized profusely. What a nice guy he was and we really did end up having a nice evening. However he lived hundreds of miles away so needless to say that was our only date.

    Laura, you lucked out that it was your only date. How would you have chosen between him and your current beau? *smile*

  4. April S permalink
    August 25, 2008 6:48 pm

    Great, Claire. I have been gone and am just now catching up. I’m glad your date went well.

    Can’t wait to hear about the next date.

    April – Glad you are back…

  5. August 26, 2008 2:45 am

    as much as i want to know more details, i won’t pry. having a high schooler is teaching me, “don’t ask too many questions. they will tell when they are ready to tell you.” 🙂

    sounds like a lovely evening. now you have even more motivation to sew. you will need another fabulous outfit for date #2.

    I have a TON of motivation now, Teri, hee hee, even without the dating. Things are just fitting nicer now, you know? But most definitely, I do want to look great for date #2.

  6. August 26, 2008 10:05 am

    Your date sounded great even with the bad music. I love that he showed up with flowers. I suppose it would have been in bad taste to take videos of him for us. That might have been hard to explain to him. I’m just glad you had fun and can look forward to more fun this weekend.

    Joan – I am looking forward to this weekend. It will be a lot of walking, that’s for sure.

Comments are closed.

