Skip to content

It’s Getting Busy ‘Round Here

September 3, 2008

My neighborhood is normally very quiet. Especially during the summer. The kids are out of school and sleeping in. People are on vacation, so not much happens in the neighborhood in the early morning during the summer. But now that school has started, things are changing. Kids are up earlier and standing out waiting for the bus by eight or so. There are more cars leaving earlier in the morning, kids and parents are chattering at the bus stop, and things are just buzzing outside.

This is also my first Fall working from home. I love working from home. I have my office set up so that I can see the neighborhood happenings from my window, yet still have bright light and a cheery space while I work. Most importantly, I can keep the windows open and let the fresh air come in. This is all so good for my health.

Someone I hadn’t seen in a while recently asked me what I was doing that made me look so much better. (Now, I could ask, did I look really horrible before? *smile*) Well, aside from losing nearly 40 pounds, I really think it has to be the change in my lifestyle. I’ve removed the stress of commuting to a stuffy, air-tight office every day. I don’t battle the idiots on the freeway, I don’t have to suffer the politicking and showboating of a corporate office environment. And I don’t have some corporate head honcho dictating what I should be doing.

005 I also get to have “Bring your kids and grandkids to work day” whenever I want. I can set my own schedule and take a midday break to get a nap in or a walk. Or do laundry. As long as my work gets done and I deliver on time, no one complains, and my bank account stays in the green.

Life seems so good. Some things haven’t changed. I still have my fibromyalgia. I still have a bum back and ankle. But those things don’t cripple me (at least not lately) because I’m focusing on other things: work, home, a possible new boyfriend, travel, weight loss, and enjoying every moment I can with my family.

This year, my only granddaughter starts first grade. My oldest daughter called me to ask what it was I did for them on the first day of school. I always bought them a gift of some sort – a journal or something – and she wanted to continue the tradition. Apparently whatever I did for my girls was memorable and made my daughter feel special in some way so she wants to pass it on. How cool a compliment is that? I must have done something right in my struggles as a single parent.

Anyway, I have a new work assignment, which is going to keep me very busy a full eight hours a day for the next three months. But I’m so happy for the arrangement I have where I can still be at home and relaxed. This ensures I can keep some balance in my life. And that’s essential to my well being.

For all the parents sending their kids off to the first day of school today, enjoy. Sometimes I wish my girls were little like that again and I could do it all over. I don’t know that I’d change too much, but I sure would relish every second of it, as I have always loved being a mom.

Off to work I go… down the hallway. Happy Wednesday to everyone.

5 Comments
  1. September 3, 2008 9:42 am

    It’s good to hear you focusing on other stuff rather than the Fibro. When I did my sleep study this weekend the lab tech was surprised to hear I had it, since I was “Not crabby” like ALL of the other Fibro people she encounters … and i laughed my ass off at that, as I am CRABBY as hell. I told her I had just been out to dinner and the movies with out of town friends and was really happy for the moment. Its sad that chronic pain can make you like this!

    Side not – possible new man, huh? FANTASTIC, and good for you!!!!

    GG – I found that focusing on the fibro wasn’t helping me move forward at all. It’s still there – it hasn’t been cured, but I’m not going to let it ruin my life. And yes, possible new man keeps calling me and asking to see me, and he’s handsome as hell.

  2. September 3, 2008 2:49 pm

    Things are sounding good for you. I don’t let my pain cripple me either. Well, it sort of does since I can’t walk more than 50 yards but I don’t let it cripple my mind. I still have fun and try to make the best of my situation. The weight loss sure helps eh? It’s nice to work from home. I love being home. I don’t exactly work but I do keep busy. My street is very quiet most of the time. With the windows open I can hear the birds and crickets. Keep us posted on the boyfriend business. I’m glad things are going well for you.

    Joan – I love hearing the birds outside – sometimes it’s so quiet, I can hear the distant trains over five miles away in the nearby valley. It’s just so peaceful. I love how you keep yourself busy – busy enough to take videos and entertain us all. I’ll keep you posted on the boyfriend biz… so far, so good.

  3. Bev permalink
    September 3, 2008 4:31 pm

    Geez, Claire…you sound so refreshed and at peace with your life. It comes through loud and clear and it’s wonderful to hear!

    I have always been happy to go to the office, but I am now reaching the point in my life that I do not enjoy the whining or the drama or the bulldog and combative approach that I sometimes am surrounded by. I want peace and quiet and I’m getting tired of being their mother! ha!

    Hope your g’daughter has a great year! I miss those days, too, of sending off the kids with their new lunch boxes and new notebooks. Sometimes it feels like a zillion years ago and other times it seems like only yesterday. I don’t miss being the homework police, tho….:)

    Thanks, Bev – I’m glad it’s apparent. I do feel refreshed and at peace. Lighthearted without any major worries. I am grateful every day for this current state. I didn’t like being the homework police or the teacher police either. I always had a very hard time getting the teachers to give ME any respect as a parent and help me with my girls’ education. It was a frustrating time in that regard, but I’m so excited to watch my grandkids go through it and my daughter and son-in-law are excellent parents, that’s for sure.

  4. September 4, 2008 7:18 am

    Congrats on the work assignment! and I think it IS cool that your dot wanted to do something special for her dot’s first day of school – just like you did to make HER feel special. I love back to school time! (my neighbor is crying right now because her youngest just got on the bus for his first day of kindergarten…)

    Thanks, C – every once in a while, I realize I did something right with my girls. 🙂 I’m very proud of the little mom my oldest has become.

  5. October 6, 2008 10:42 pm

    This is one of the most beautiful posts you’ve ever written. I am so happy for you. You deserve every bit of this.

    Thanks, MB. I had to go back and re-read it. 🙂 Things really are great these days and I’m soaking up every minute of it and trying to fuse it into my memory so I never forget that life is fabulous, regardless of circumstances.

Comments are closed.

