Skip to content

My New Favorite Series

September 5, 2008

Mad Men on AMC:  I’m really slow on the uptake with television. This series has already been on for one season and some of my colleagues have been chatting about it because of the copy writing part of the story line (being a copy writer myself, it does interest me.) A lot of the conversation was around the chauvinism, smoking, and what was allowed in the office those days, “girls” outside each office door and so forth. I skipped all those emails, but I should have paid attention. I caught last week’s new episode by accident and I was hooked. I spent all Labor Day afternoon watching previous episodes on On Demand.

I’m not sure why I love it, but I do. Possibly because I was born in 1960 and this is the era when my parents were young. But oh my gosh. Look at the fashions. Some of these could be adapted to be worn today – maybe not the full skirt and petticoats, but parts of them.

Betty Draper, Joan Holloway, Peggy Olson in Mad Men

This black and white checked dress is stunning. Look at the vertical row of buttons and how awesome she looks in that. My mother used to dress like that in three inch heels – perfectly coordinated and put together. I loved that look.

Peggy and Pete

Or could it just be I love this show because of this eye candy?

Don DraperMad Men Episode 6 Don and Bobbie 2

Ya, I think that’s it.

4 Comments
  1. September 6, 2008 5:34 am

    I was in a store yesterday and the fashions looked so 60’s – it was wild! and fun.

    I’ve only watched the show once and I thought it was way too much “lighting of the ciggie.” They would take one puff, put it out and light up again!

    Curious, there is a lot of the smoking but that’s exactly how it was then. I remember my mother telling me she smoked two packs a day when she quit in the early sixties. She was in advertising (television advertising, not an agency) and it was very common to take their clients out to lunch and order martinis and such.

  2. Bev permalink
    September 6, 2008 4:35 pm

    Hmmm…..maybe I’ll try to catch it. I had an old friend (that I’ve known since I was 11, believe it or not) tell me he made his teenaged daughter watch it with him one night, just so she could see what it used to be like and how far we’ve come.

    And, boyohboy, I love that deep green dress in the 1st pic!

    Well, Bev, I’m not so sure I’d let my teenage daughter watch it. There’s a lot of mature content in it – Don Draper having affairs and stuff – and I would be uncomfortable letting any daughter younger than 16 or so watch it with me, but then, that’s me….

  3. September 7, 2008 1:02 pm

    Ok, I’ve watched this show from Day 1 and loved it … kept meaning to blog about it … so if you see me write about it someday don’t hate on me ….

    I can’t wait to see if Peggy is going to be all sexy now after last weeks debut @ the titty bar. Oh, this show rocks!!! Glad to know you have good tv taste!!!

    Getto Girl – I don’t know what rock I’ve been living under, but I sure have been missing out. My new “friend” and I rented disc one of season one last night and watched the first two episodes. It got so late I was too tired to stay and watch the third, but soon… 🙂 I, too, wonder about Peggy. She sure is pretty when she dresses up a bit more. I love this show!

  4. September 8, 2008 6:12 am

    I really need to watch this show…Ive heard nothing but wonderful things about it.

Comments are closed.

