Skip to content

A Thunderously Fabulous Weekend

September 8, 2008

This weekend was a great one. It started off on Friday with a date with Mr. Jersey Boy. (I’ll call him that for now, since he’s from Jersey originally and I love how he says “tawk” and “cawfee”.) We first went to dinner and then saw the movie, Tropic Thunder. I think you have to have a certain sick, twisted sense of humor to really find this hilarious – and thankfully, we both have that sense of humor – otherwise it could have been a disastrous date. I couldn’t control myself from laughing out loud. Nor could he. It was awesome. One can’t have a high sensibility to politically incorrect statements either, or one won’t enjoy the movie. We did see one couple walk out. Still…very funny, and I think Robert Downey Jr. steals the show.

image

Next, I’ve indicated my interest to see this movie, which I will go see whether Mr. Jersey Boy takes me or not. Seriously, look at that cast… Brad Pitt, George Clooney… my two favorite hunks EVAH!

burn-after-reading-poster.jpg

Saturday morning I got up early and went to watch my granddaughter’s first soccer game. I tried to take pictures, but this is all I got…

IMG_6112

And of course, this little guy… I can’t get enough of him…

IMG_6131

After the soccer game, which Elise’s team won, Cindy, Cody, and the two boys and I all went out to breakfast. Then I went and spent time with a friend I hadn’t see in far too long. That was great too.

Then I did some shopping in preparation for my trip to visit my brother in Kansas. I leave this next weekend. Shopping sucks. I get so distracted by everything in the mall. I looked everywhere for a red top to match my cute red and white Sketchers I just got. Finally found one at Macy’s. There just isn’t going to be time for any sewing before I go.

This week is going to be busy… much work to do and much personal stuff to get ready before Saturday morning. I’m so looking forward to this vacation! I’ll have wi-fi while I’m out there so I can take pictures and blog them, and check in on all you folks!

Later, peeps.

6 Comments
  1. September 8, 2008 9:12 am

    We saw Tropic Thunder too and all of us liked it. I guess we all have a sick twisted sense of humor and not one of us is politically correct. I agree with you about Robert Downey, Jr.

    I’m so glad you and Mr. Jersey Boy are having a good time.

    I hope you have a great time in Kansas.

    Joan, that must be why I like you – you have the same twisted sense of humor as I do. And Mr. Jersey Boy is taking me to the airport on Saturday. hee hee. I’ll be blogging from there (Kansas), don’t worry. Maybe even a video or two.

  2. September 8, 2008 1:38 pm

    i haven’t seen the movie, but there is something about it that appeals to me. none of my friends is willing to see it with it.

    glad you are having fun with mr jersey boy!

    Aw, Teri, if I was there, I’d go with you, even though I’ve already seen it. I think it’s probably one of those movies that is so laden with humor and innuendos that you miss half of it the first time through anyway.

  3. September 8, 2008 3:36 pm

    I want to see Burn After. So glad you had a great weekend. πŸ˜€

  4. Bev permalink
    September 8, 2008 6:31 pm

    Yep, sounds like a great weekend. I’m waiting on any decent movies to come out – it’s been a long summer of nuttin’! I don’t have any interest in seeing the Tropic movie but I do like Robert Downing, Jr. For all the self-destruction he’s been through, I hope he continues on the straight and narrow!

    Yes, Bev, perhaps Robert Downing, Jr. is figuring things out, finally. He sure was good in this movie, that’s for sure.

  5. VeeDogKnitter permalink
    September 9, 2008 1:11 pm

    OMG Tropic Thunder…loved it! I had to cover my face several times i was laughing so loud.

    VeeDogKnitter – I didn’t even bother covering my face, I figured, what the heck… everyone else is laughing… I hope I didn’t annoy anyone though. I hate to be one of those annoying movie-goers. πŸ™‚

  6. October 6, 2008 10:38 pm

    Ohhh, we’ve gotten a lot of mileage from Tropic Thunder around here. For a couple of weeks, I took to putting “simple” in front of everyone’s name. Y’know, like Simple Jack. It got worse after that, but I’ll stop there. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

