Skip to content

Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 9

September 11, 2008

Let’s start today with a little English lesson, shall we? Anyone know what avant-garde means? I mean, what it *really* means? (I had to look it up too, peeps.)

(From American Heritage Dictionary)

n.

A group active in the invention and application of new techniques in a given field, especially in the arts.

adj.

Of, relating to, or being part of an innovative group, especially one in the arts: avant-garde painters; an avant-garde theater piece.

Clearly none of the designers knew what it meant either or had access to a dictionary. No one expects them to know everything. Perhaps they thought it meant freak show. Because that’s what last night was. No better term for it, really, unless you have one, and I’d love to hear it.

Last night was a team challenge, wherein they brought back all the kicked off contestants from this season, and challenged them to design an avant-garde piece inspired by the astrological sign of either of the pair.

As usual, Kenley wasn’t listening.

Kenley & Wesley –

What. The. Heck?

This is altogether freaky, laughable, and scary. And Kenley’s attitude is purely egotistical and arrogant. She refused to listen to the challenge, argued with Tim Gunn, who clearly got ticked off with her, and then continued to argue with Michael Kors on the runway. Seriously. And how does one tick off Tim Gunn? The most patient man I’ve seen on TV.

I have no clue what astrological sign this is supposed to represent, but I had to pause the TV to show my daughter and we both screamed out loud with laughter and fright.  And I was wrong this time about my guess for being kicked off, because Kenley’s still in the game. Yikes.

Moving on….

Jerell & Jennifer –  This was the winner. HUH? Were the judges smoking crack? I guess considering all the other entries (see below) it was the best of the worst, but ewww. The fabric choices were hideous. Tim Gunn called the skirt fabric like a “school marm”. I like the style of the skirt for being different, and the flaps on the side add curves to a skinny model, but still. FUGLY. That’s all there is to it.

Joe & Daniel – At least with this one, the colors were cohesive. The model’s makeup is scary, and the bodice seems a tad too low, like they thought her waistline was her hip bones, and like it’s going to fall off. Overall, this wasn’t bad, but it certainly wasn’t avant-garde either.

Korto & Kelly – Now, I kind of liked this one. Maybe because the colors are pleasing to the eye, and I wish I had a back view to show you, because this really did reflect water, which was the intent, I believe. But it’s a little voluminous, wouldn’t you say?

Leanne & Emily –  I get a neck ache looking at this dress. That top thing on her head looks so heavy and strange. And I’m seriously tired of Leanne’s little flaps and loops.

Suede & Jerry – This is essentially a long pair of knickers (down to the ankle) a camisole, and a bunch of strange fabric with hoops in the hem. What? Hot mess here, I’d say. I had really thought this would get him booted off. I think Suede will be next.

Did I mention last night was a double elimination? And to make it even stranger, they had to preview their designs to some of prior season winners and contestants before the work was even finished.

Let’s start with the first loser. Terri (and Keith). Her whole attitude and demeanor (or what the editors portrayed of it) was nasty. She hated Keith and it was obvious. She was surly and moody, and her design was just strange. She started out with a fur collar, which the judges didn’t like, and lost it for this.

And it’s about frickin time. Blayne (and Stella). Blayne is finally going home. What can I say about this. Michael Kors said it looked like she was pooping fabric. Someone else said it was a joke. The leather straps make it look like an S&M fantasy gone to the circus.

Buh-bye, Blayne. At least you were entertaining, even if you weren’t a good designer.

Thoughts as to next week’s challenge? I hear it might be another double elimination, but I’m not certain. Hopefully it won’t be as bizarre as this one. I’m losing interest….

 

Previous episode recaps

View Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 8

View Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 7

View Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 6

View Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 5

View Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 4

View Project Runway, Season 5, Episode 3

View Project Runway – Season 5, Episode 2

View Project Runway – Season 5, Episode 1

3 Comments
  1. September 11, 2008 10:50 am

    This is the first time I’ve watched the show (I think I knew I’d be hooked, which is why I’ve avoided it until now.) I’m going to spend the next hour looking at your recaps because I’m definitely curious about the episodes I’ve missed.

  2. September 11, 2008 12:21 pm

    You do THE BEST job of recapping a show that I’ve ever read. You should have a job blogging for TV Guide. And you’re hilarious while recapping, which isn’t easy to do.

    I wish I’d seen this show…a double elimination? That’s crazy, it must have been so exciting. Kenley’s dress is the stupidest thing I’ve ever seen. But that fugly school marm winner was just awful. AWFUL.

    Love your recaps, LM. 😛

  3. Puzzlecutter permalink
    September 13, 2008 6:03 pm

    You are so right about the loops, flaps and Leanne’s overuse of them.

    Let’s keep our fingers crossed that Kenley doesn’t make it much further. What’s with here ‘tude??

    Thanks for blogging!

Comments are closed.

