Skip to content

I Found Toto! Safe and Sound in Kansas

September 14, 2008

See?

IMG_6265

(Talking a walk with Ann – my brother’s s/o, and Jeepers and JJ their dogs.)

I had a wonderful flight (can a flight be wonderful?) I sat next to a sweet little lady originally from England and we had a nice conversation for a while, interspersed with listening to great music on the iPod. I was determined to just enjoy the ride and didn’t even crack open the laptop, although I should have because I have work to do. I’ll get to that later tonight.

Today, I got a ride in my brother’s race car. He took me on some spins around the block here that were better than an E ride at Disneyland – and totally illegal. We blew right past a cop (or security guard) and they did nothing. Phew! Boy, that handle on the door really does serve a purpose… keeps you from flying into the driver’s seat around those fast turns.

Next we drove to Topeka to see the race track where they will be racing on Tuesday and Wednesday. It was overcast and very windy – and cool. I was totally not prepared for the coolness, but my brother has taken care of me with a warm fleece jacket.

Now, we’re watching the Seahawks game while Chris and Ann are loading the car up on the trailer to take out to the track tomorrow, while I stay here, walk to Weight Watchers, and work.

Here are a few pictures for your entertainment.

Sunset last night as we went to dinner at Chili’s.

IMG_6166

Some pictures of Chris’ car

IMG_6171

IMG_6175

Inside the car

IMG_6177

IMG_6167

Here’s where they are racing.

IMG_6187

This is my speed of race car…

IMG_6198

Some of the cars lined up to do their “test and tune”, which is kind of like a practice run.

IMG_6209

IMG_6218

IMG_6220

IMG_6225

A brief break in the cloud cover and wind

IMG_6228 

Stay tuned for more later!

4 Comments
  1. Bev permalink
    September 16, 2008 10:33 am

    Loved the little pink Jeep! Just my speed, too!

    What a gorgeous sunset!

  2. September 16, 2008 3:40 pm

    Oh this looks great! I loved “Sunset over Chilis” and thought it was beautiful…it almost looked like Hawaii for a second. Your brother’s car is really cool. But Toto looks a little nervous.

  3. September 18, 2008 4:57 am

    Hey – we were both in KS at the same time! (I was in Wichita, tho and flew home Sunday during prime football time)

    and whackadoodle! Suede lives to see another week!?!

  4. September 20, 2008 7:13 am

    Hey, Curious.. too funny. Suede will go soon, though. He’s definitely not a contender for the prize, in my opinion.

Comments are closed.

