Skip to content

Race Days End With A Trophy

September 19, 2008

We have been going, going, going. And doing, doing, doing. Tuesday and Wednesday were the two days my brother and his SO raced in the SCCA (Sports Car Club of America) Solo Nationals. I’ve never experienced anything like this before and it was wonderful to see what it is all about because this is their passion and their hobby, and Chris (my brother) had worked so hard to get to the Nationals and he “”TROPHIED” (don’t you love how nouns become verbs all the time?) 

Chris placed third in the STX class (Street Touring Extreme) in all of the nation! This is awesome. Ann placed fourth out of fifth in the STXL (Ladies) class and this is still incredible because this was her first Nationals competition. She really did well.

Here are some pictures for your enjoyment. Even if you aren’t into cars, I’m sure you can appreciate how wonderful it is when someone works hard at something and succeeds. Plus, I’m so happy I could be there for my brother on this great event.

Sunrise on day 2…

IMG_6344

Drying off the car on day 2

IMG_6390

Somebody forgot there was a turn.

IMG_6398

Chris driving up to the start line

IMG_6399

The winner with his buddies after the official announcement.

IMG_6420

Going into the awards banquet

IMG_6425

And a little fun for you… It was really dark inside the Expo hall in Topeka, but I assure you everything was very secure. Check out these giant security cameras!

IMG_6436

(Seriously, they’re not security cameras, but I thought that was funny.)

More soon – Look for pictures of Table Rock Lake, Missouri.

4 Comments
  1. September 20, 2008 3:37 am

    i’m sure he loved having you there to cheer him on. i’ve always wanted to go to racing school. i *love* to drive really fast.

  2. September 20, 2008 7:14 am

    He did, Teri. He’s had some professional instruction too, so that has helped him improve his sport. I like to ride fast, not drive fast. LOL.

  3. September 20, 2008 7:26 am

    I love Nascar racing. So I am all into this. That is wonderful that your bro did so well. I like watching fast driving but I drive like the little old lady that I am. Well, actually, I am not little or old but I drive like I am.

  4. September 20, 2008 7:33 am

    And, Joan, I did take lots of videos so when I get a chance to upload them, I will. You’ll enjoy that too.

Comments are closed.

