Skip to content

Lakeside Cabin Relaxation

September 20, 2008

IMG_6478 Have I mentioned that I’m having a great vacation?

This is the cabin we’re staying in at Table Rock Lake in Lampe, Missouri. We have a peekaboo view of the lake through the trees, and the walk to the shore is a mere 100 yards – if that – from this deck. We brought my brother’s dogs with us (the “buddies”) and they’re having a great time too. It’s so incredibly peaceful here and laid back – waking up to a quiet sunrise, coffee on the deck looking out at the lake, and slowly getting ready for a boat ride in the afternoon around Table Rock Lake.

Yesterday we anchored in a small cove after a nice ride around parts of the lake and had lunch and a swim. I’m told this lake goes all the way into Arkansas. It was refreshing (the swim), exhilarating (the ride), and completely satisfying (the company). Here are some pictures from the past few days in no particular order.

The sunset captured while driving across the bridge to the cabin.

IMG_6473

Jeepers or JayJay (not sure which) taking an early morning swim in the lake.

IMG_6501

Getting my feet wet in the lake for the first time. This is the dock just by the end of the resort beach where we are staying.

IMG_6513

IMG_6516

Jeepers smiling for the camera and waiting while we get the boat ready to go out.

IMG_6549 

Heading out on the boat under slightly overcast skies. This burned off fairly quickly and left plenty of sun for me to soak up.

IMG_6569

The lake house I’d love to have.

IMG_6614

The one I can afford.

IMG_6572

At the helm

IMG_6587

IMG_6589

IMG_6591

A little of the bluff scenery around these parts.

IMG_6611

In the water. Peace out, dude. (My brother’s favorite hand symbol.)

IMG_6617

Heading back while the sun sets. I love wake shots from boats.

IMG_6654

Chris and Jeepers. Jeepers loves to “surf”.

IMG_6679

IMG_6678

My new buddy. Lily, don’t be jealous.

IMG_6682

And sunset back at the cabin. All in all, a fabulous day and by the time I get home, I’ll have enough summer and sun in my system to last me through the months of gray, dreary Seattle winter. I hope.

IMG_6695

IMG_6709

IMG_6701

10 Comments
  1. September 20, 2008 6:49 am

    Looks like a great place to spend some high quality relaxation time. I loved all the photos. I wouldn’t show these pictures to Lily though. Enjoy yourself!!

    Thanks, Joan. I am. I won’t show Lily the pictures. Although my daughter is sending me daily updates on Lily. She misses her mommy – and likewise. Except for the long days at the races, I could have brought her and she would have gotten used to the bigger doggies.

  2. September 20, 2008 7:07 am

    so jealous because it looks so fabulous. glad you having a wonderful. if it can’t be me, at least it’s you. 🙂

    I think it’s about time I got some R&R, don’t you think? And I’m still working my Weight Watcher’s program too.

  3. September 20, 2008 3:05 pm

    oh my goodness.. this place looks so relaxing and the sunsets are beautiful. Great photos. Yay on R&R. 😀

    Cici – the place is just so heavenly. Really.

  4. Bev permalink
    September 20, 2008 6:55 pm

    Wow, it’s all beautiful. What I wouldn’t give to be there enjoying that atmosphere and scenery. Sigh. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

    Thanks, Bev! I am sure I will enjoy every minute of it!

  5. September 21, 2008 8:34 am

    LOOK HOW SKINNY YOU ARE THESE DAY! HOPE YOU ARE HAVING FUN. VACATION SOUNDS SO NICE RIGHT NOW!

    Thanks, GG – getting skinnier by the minute. Glad to know it’s noticeable. I don’t always see it.

  6. September 22, 2008 5:02 am

    that looks awesome. A lake house is on my short list of things to own before I die. The one you can afford…was there more than that there at one time? Or did someone just build an overlook?

    Apparently there was more of a house there at one time. All that’s left there now is the foundation and chimney. There are some awesome lake houses around there and my brother and I were scouting the properties out. Like he says, there will never be more dirt made.

  7. September 26, 2008 8:55 am

    You look fantastic. FANTASTIC.
    And Jeepers is so adorable and photogenic, he has a wonderful smile.
    All these photos were really cool and I’m so glad you posted them. Even though you’re working, this looks like it’s a very awesome vacation.

  8. October 6, 2008 10:28 pm

    These are just wonderful. You look so happy and beautiful!!!!

    These pics made me miss my kids. They live about an hour and a half from Lampe (I used to too). Table Rock really does go all the way to Arkansas.

  9. October 7, 2008 6:33 am

    Catching up on comments….

    Wendy, thank you. Jeepers is adorable. Even though he’s my brother’s SO’s dog, he’s more like my brother’s dog – if that makes sense. And I feel fantastic these days. Vacation was awesome and set me up to be able to endure the long gray winter ahead up here in Seattle.

    Moonbeam – when I get that house on the lake, I hope you know you have a standing invitation with Theo and kids and whoever to come visit and stay as long as you like. The scenery around those parts is just awesome.

Trackbacks

  1. Trip Report: Little Miss & Family Enjoys The Beauty of Table Rock Lake | Branson Digest

Comments are closed.

