Skip to content

Wednesday Mind Wanderings

September 24, 2008

If I win the $170+ million lottery in Kansas tonight (and I did buy a ticket!), I will buy this:

IMG_6746

This house sits up on the bluff overlooking Table Rock Lake, Missouri. I shot this picture from the moving boat this weekend. How cool is that house?

When we were on the lake, we were close to Branson, Missouri, and I saw this old paddleboat turned into a show/dinner boat.

IMG_6782

This morning I woke up to thunderstorms and warm rain. However, the forecast is for that to all clear up by this afternoon and the sun will come out, with highs in the low 80s tomorrow through the weekend. Nice.

My vacation is almost over. Saturday afternoon I head home. I’ll be sad that vacation will be over as I’ve enjoyed visiting with my brother and his SO, but I’ll also be happy to be home in my own bed, with my Lily and my cats. Lily sure misses me almost as much as I miss her. My daughter gives me daily updates on how she’s doing.

I still have some gift shopping to do before heading home. The goal is to try to find something that can’t be found in Seattle.

I think by the time I get home, I will have had enough sun to last me through the gray, Seattle winters. Hopefully. If not, I may have to find a place to run away to in January or February. I could so easily be a snowbird.

I also have some sewing planned for when I get home. My daughter wants a Halloween costume for Evan. I made a cute one for Cayden when he was a baby, and this will be Evan’s first Halloween. She’s looking at something from this pattern, McCalls 8938. I love the lion, but I’m afraid that the headpiece will be too much work and I’ll not finish it. I can’t not finish something for Evan, especially when my daughter would be counting on it.

image of M8938

I also want to make some aprons for gifts for special people this year. Plus, I’m still going to need more clothes. I’m doing really well on my WW plan while on vacation. I’ve gone to a meeting and weighed in both Mondays I’ve been here. (Have I mentioned I love Weight Watchers?) I’ve continued to lose – a total of 2.5 more pounds gone this last week and a half. I’m quite happy with my results.

I finally watched last week’s Project Runway. I’m not sure it’s worth recapping still – you tell me if you want me to – since the new episode comes out tonight and there’s so much on the Web already recapping it and telling the results.

That’s about it for now. I am working during the day while out here this week, so that’s keeping me busy while my brother and his SO are also at work.

Hope everyone is doing well! Stay tuned for more later.

6 Comments
  1. September 24, 2008 12:29 pm

    hmmm, looks like there might be a guest room or two….which is good because i’m coming for a visit. just let me when you’re moving in. 🙂

    If I ever get that house, I’ll have a Blogger-ama party! All my bloggy friends will be invited. 🙂 Especially you, Teri. And we can set up a sewing room too….

  2. Bev permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:19 pm

    I vote for the skunk costume….cute!

    Glad you have had a terrific vacation so far. You have most definitely been surrounded by natural beauty !

    Naah, don’t waste your time or energy on last week’s PR….save it for tonight! It was all kinda boring last week I thought.

    Enjoy your last few days of R & R!

    Thanks, Bev. I skipped last week’s review, in case you didn’t notice. It’s been great, this vacation, but I am looking forward to going home to my own familiar surroundings.

  3. September 25, 2008 8:32 am

    I’m so proud of myself. I figured out the acronym SO all by myself.

    I’m glad you are having such a great time. I’ll bet you miss the children, though. Vacation’s are great but it is always nice to get home too.
    Congrats on weight watchers especially when you are on vacation. I’m getting my motivation back. I had lost it for a while.

    Enjoy the rest of your time with your brother.

    Joan, I forgot about the acronyms – sorry. Maybe I’ll just put a cheat list up on the sidebar. LOL. Glad you are getting your WW motivation back.

  4. September 25, 2008 10:44 pm

    All of these designs are superb. But, I vote for the little elephant costume.

  5. September 26, 2008 8:51 am

    Oh my god I love that house. What a fantastic vantage point those people have. I hope they realize how lucky they are. And the steamboat is awesome, I’ve never seen one in person but I’m sure I’d love it.
    Gift shopping is probably my favorite part of a vacation. That sounds terrible, loving the shopping part of a trip, but I do!

    The Halloween costumes are adorable, I love them all. 😉

  6. Kaylan permalink
    October 3, 2008 7:18 pm

    I just stumbled upon this looking at project runway stuff!

    I love the McCalls baby costumes.. It made me want to cry! I remember my mother using that EXACT panda pattern to make my sister a costume when she was just a baby. :_) Thanks for the reminder!

    And yes, that house is magnificent!

Comments are closed.

