Skip to content

Weight Loss and Holiday Dress Daydreaming

September 30, 2008

Some math wizard at Weight Watchers needs to go to remedial school – or else I do. So, first the good news. I have lost a total of 42.6 pounds now. Woohooo! But when I entered my weights online in the Weight Watcher tool, it said this:

Please note: You’re probably excited to be losing weight, but you’re losing faster than is recommended. Although it’s normal to lose over 2 lbs in 1 week, if you lose more than an average of 2 lbs per week over a 4-week period, this could pose health risks, such as heart irregularities, anemia or loss of muscle mass. Please slow your weight loss; your doctor can help you do this if you’re not sure how, or ask your Leader for ideas.


You lost again this week! Congratulations, and keep doing exactly what you’re doing!
See you next week.

Uh, I did the math. Basic averaging says I’m losing at about 1.85 pounds a week. Whatever. Chalk it up to a programmer error, I guess. Second, “please slow your weight loss… if you’re not sure how…” Gee, how stupid do they think we are? Of course we know how to slow our weight loss. It’s called EATING, people. Eating more. More popcorn, more ice cream, more, more, more. Duh!

Meanwhile, whatever I’m doing is working, so I’m ignoring their note. My leader is keeping an eye on me and I am so motivated. An early goal I had – long before ever knowing of Mr. Jersey Boy’s existence – was to be svelte enough for a really dynamite holiday dress, even if I had nowhere to go. It looks like I’m going to hit that goal. Plus possibly have somewhere to go with a very handsome man by my side.

So, speaking of dresses, I’m looking for inspiration for holiday dress ideas. Depending on my time availability, although I want to make my dress, I may have to purchase it. Here are some of what I’ve seen so far that I like (from Nordstrom.com)

Stenay Beaded Silk Dress

Maggy London Sleeveless Silk Dress

(Maggie London – above)

This may be just the one….Adrianna Papell Beaded chiffon party dress.

Adrianna Papell Bead Chiffon Party Dress

Check out the back view…

Adrianna Papell Bead Chiffon Party Dress

Now, if I could get that in an deep emerald green or deep amethyst purple, even better. Yeah, I think that may be the dress for me. It’s $198 from Nordstrom.com. How much do you think the fabric to make something like that would cost, and where could I get it? The pattern itself is fairly simple, it appears.

I’ll keep daydreaming, but not too long, as I have to work so I can afford the fabric or the dress!

More later!

7 Comments
  1. April S permalink
    September 30, 2008 11:19 am

    I LOVE that red dress! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT. The blue one is a very close second.

    I like the style of the red one, but that particular shade isn’t deep enough red for me. Seems it has more rust in it than red, but it’s a gorgeous dress. I guess if I’m making it, I can choose the fabric myself.

  2. September 30, 2008 12:55 pm

    the black dress is my favorite, but all three are pretty.

    the wii fit gets a little confused when i use it. at one point, it tells me i my BMI is too low. i set up my goal as “lose 10 pounds”…i don’t really want to lose 10 pounds, i was just curious as to what it would do. so it fusses at me about my BMI but then later encourages me to work out more to reach my goal. a little programming glitch. πŸ™‚

    don’t listen to the silly computer. congrats on the weight loss!

    I just thought it was hilarious that a Weight Watchers message said, “if you are having problems slowing down your weight loss” … Uh, sure thing… that’s how we got there in the first place… we had no issues in how to eat MORE food. Cracked me up.

  3. September 30, 2008 3:38 pm

    I love the red one , but the blue is pretty awesome too. Either would look great on you. Which one is the easiest to make. Which one is the cheapest? Congratulations on your weight loss. Are you at your goal yet? I recently loss 10 pounds. I am happy about it, but I want to loose another 15 or 20.

    Cici, They are both about the same level of difficulty if I were to make them, so it’s only a matter of a) do I have the time, b) can I find the pattern, and c) can I afford to buy it if I don’t have time to make it? I haven’t hit my goal yet, but I’m about halfway there.

  4. September 30, 2008 6:06 pm

    I havent seen any pics in the past few weeks, but I swear everytime you put one up, its like you’re disappearing before our eyes! Great job! Keep it up.

    For whatever my opinion is worth, the blue dress is gorgeous! (you wouldnt go wrong with any of them though)

    I’ll have to post some more pics… although there were a few in my vacation photos I recently posted, although not close up. I lost 4 pounds while on vacation, which is remarkable, really.

    And yes, Mr. VV, your opinion is worth very much around this blog. πŸ™‚

  5. Bev permalink
    September 30, 2008 6:15 pm

    Well, my all time favorite color is RED and that dress is HAWT!!! However, your coloring may be more suited to the lovely and gorgeous royal blue. Either is fabulous. Aaw, I’d die to have someplace to wear that RED dress! Really! I may have to invent something!

    Congrats on your weight loss. I would be happy happy if I were you! I need to lose 25 and I was making progress until I came down with a nasty bug. You should be so proud of yourself! I’m giving you a cyber hug and pat on the back. Whoo Hoo! πŸ™‚

    Bev, with the right undergarments (hee hee) I could look great in the red dress. But with my blonde hair, green eyes, and skin coloring, deeper jewel tones are better for me. I am proud of myself about the weight loss. As someone just privately emailed me, I’ve lost the equivalent of a first grader. A whole child. Wow. It really is a lot.

  6. October 2, 2008 2:15 pm

    I have been on the slow boat to weight loss this summer and am trying to get back on track. I know I will. I am so happy you are doing so well. I love the red dress too. I am looking for my holiday jeans. Ha! Ha! I still won’t wear dresses probably ever. I feel naked without my jeans. I might buy a nice sweater though.

  7. October 6, 2008 10:18 pm

    All of these dresses are just beautiful. I’m reading your blog backward, and I can’t wait to see your “after and before” photos. I’m so proud of you!

Comments are closed.

