Skip to content

Project Runway… Whatever

October 3, 2008

I’m late blogging about this episode because it was seriously annoying and at the end I was about ready to just give up watching the show. We’re down to the final four: Korto, Leanne, Jerrell, and Kenley. The focus this episode was on Kenley – the irritating, rude, delusional young designer who has a chip on her shoulder and zero humility. She thinks she’s fabulous, is belligerent to the judges, and has an arrogance that won’t end. I seriously expected her to get kicked off this episode, and even Heidi and Nina called her on the carpet for rolling her eyes, her attitude, and her defensiveness.

Whatever.

The challenge was lame too. Each designer got a camera, walked around New York Botanical Gardens and had to design an evening gown inspired by nature. Couldn’t the producers be more creative than that?

So here they are in short order. I have to admit that I’m bored with what this show is delivering – both from the perspective of the challenges and the creations from the designers.

Jerrell was the winner of the challenge. I’m not clear what his inspiration was, really, but this is okay, but the dress is bordering indecency if the model raises her arms even a fraction.

Leanne, who finally chose a color that isn’t gray, brown, navy, or black. It’s soft, but she had to include her little layered ruffles, which I’m so done with. What this photo doesn’t show is that she stuffed a splash of navy blue (she couldn’t resist, could she?) at the back, just under where that ruffle wraps around the models butt. Whatever.

Korto seemed to be out of her element here, although I’m not sure why. The color is okay. A little bit like orange sherbet and not at all like her inspiration, which was some sort of fireworks flower. I don’t get the effect on the sides of the skirt. It looks like fruit rather than flower inspiration.

And Kenley… Her gown was supposed to be inspired by a dark purple coleus plant. I have to admit, she got the colors right, but that scale-like fabric and the literal petals at the bottom makes me think of a mermaid out of water. When Heidi told her it didn’t look very elegant, she defended herself by saying “I wasn’t going for elegant, Heidi.” Can I just take Kenley aside and slap her?

image

There’s a part of me that feels that Kenley really could be a nice person and a halfway decent designer, if she could just listen to her critics objectively. She just needs to get past that attitude of me against the world. It’s not serving her well, and who cares if she was raised by a tugboat captain? Many have had worse upbringing than that and don’t have such a snide, rotten attitude. Lose it, girl, or be lonely for life.

Anyway, I’m off my Kenley rant for now…

Who got kicked off?

NO ONE!

That was the most frustrating part of this show. They were all allowed to go home, make a collection, and then come back next episode and someone still won’t be allowed to compete at Bryant park. Seems to me they did that another season too and I didn’t care for that then either.

Whatever.

Stay tuned, peeps. I guess we’ll learn soon enough who wins.

9 Comments
  1. October 3, 2008 1:01 pm

    hey, don’t insult mermaids by comparing them to kenley’s dress. šŸ™‚ but, yeah, it was….. not botanical, not pretty, and not innovative. she needs to see a video tape of herself to see how annoying she is. grow up, kenley.

    i was very annoyed that no one got sent home….but glad it wasn’t korto, jerrell, or leanne. i don’t want kenley to win simply because she is rude. rudeness should not be rewarded.

  2. October 3, 2008 4:18 pm

    Ha! I think Kenley disrespected mermaids everywhere with that dress. And I agree – rudeness should not be rewarded, and if for some strange reason, it is, I may just boycott the show.

  3. Bev permalink
    October 3, 2008 6:25 pm

    HATED those dumb petals at the bottom of Kenley’s dress….ugh. I thought the color of Leanne’s dress was lovely but I’m not into ruffles. It would have been very pretty without them. Jerrell just seemed so NICE these past couple of weeks that I’m rooting for him. Dress was ok, but that hem! Oh my. Loved the color of Korto’s dress. The end.

    I was seriously ticked when they didn’t kick off anyone, too. Geez, go through all that whining and rudeness and …..thud. Nothin’. Yep, I’m just not into this season as much as in the past. Maybe they rushed to get another season in too soon. I don’t really care who wins at this point….but NOT Kenley! If that were my daughter, we’d be having a serious discussion about civility and respect!

  4. mndaniels permalink
    October 3, 2008 8:19 pm

    I totally agree! I hated Kenley’s dress and want her to GO! She’s obnoxious and I can’t stand her.

    Felt like a waste of time watching if they weren’t kicking anyone off and the creations were lackluster.

    http://fashionabletv.wordpress.com/2008/10/04/project-runway-nature-calls/

  5. October 4, 2008 6:50 pm

    This is the first season that I haven’t watched the show and I have to say that I’m not freaking out about it. You’re right, it really does seem like a lackluster season for PR, which is probably why it’s been so much fun to read your coverage of it. Sorry if it’s been torture, been I’ve been digging it. šŸ™‚

    In the one episode I did see I was distracted by this very unlikable designer who, it turns out, was Kenley. They probably chose her for the show for just that purpose, to give everyone someone to dislike. Mission accomplished.

  6. October 5, 2008 8:30 am

    I want to say perhaps the show has jumped the shark for you. Sometimes its ok to give up a show … I gave up Will & Grace and The Sopranos during the lasy season. I was sick of all their bullshit. I gave up ER many years ago, after the Dr. Ramono arm thing. You know in your heart what to do.

  7. October 6, 2008 4:24 am

    I had the very same reaction.

    I wish Jerrell’s dress had more purple in it.

  8. October 6, 2008 10:12 pm

    I’ve missed the last couple of episodes and haven’t been too sad about it. I’ve disliked Kenley since she laughed out loud when the judges were criticizing an outfit that Joe had designed. Her behavior’s ridiculous, but I think Wendy’s right– keeping her is probably calculated, to pull in ratings. Korto, Leanne and Jerrell are pretty nice, and pretty tame.

    I do like Jarrell’s dress, just seeing it from the photo.

  9. October 9, 2008 4:25 pm

    I just realized I hadn’t commented here on this episode. I think this was the first episode that they all did’t do so hot. WTF.. Kenley got spared!

Comments are closed.

