Skip to content

Project Runway – Finale Part 1

October 12, 2008

This is the episode where the format is the final four designers go home and create their collections for Bryant Park and Tim Gunn goes to visit them. This time, however, when they return, there’s yet ANOTHER challenge where one of the designers is kicked off and doesn’t compete at Bryant Park.

I have to say here, though, that I’m fed up with Project Runway. At the beginning of the season, it seemed like it would be fun, but it’s turned into a vehicle for Bravo TV to advertise all their sponsors’ brands – Loreal, Tres Semme, American Express, and so on – and that gets seriously old and tired. Additionally, this perpetuation of Kenley the Spoiled Brat throughout each episode really kills me. And last, the fact that the timing of the finale is *after* six of the designers have already shown their collections at Fashion Week seems so terribly anti-climatic. I don’t know why the producers couldn’t have timed the series so we’re seeing the final episode the same week as they are actually walking down the runway. The designer’s collections have been available on Bravo TV for at least a couple weeks now.

So, the short of it is that Jerrell was sent home, and Kenley survives to compete for the grand prize along with Korto and Leanne. Whatever. What does this tell our children? That rudeness is rewarded? That arrogance, bluntness and disrespect are acceptable and how one should behave to succeed? I don’t care what her level of design skill is – in the real world, you are rated on your ability to get along with others and be a team player, and that is a critical component in whether you get the promotion at work or not. Why do the judges ignore that? Perhaps they are all so sick of this program as well. I know I am, but I am a finisher, so I’ll finish blogging about this season next week.

So, let’s recap this episode, briefly. Tim visits all the designers and you can see photos of those visits here: http://www.bravotv.com/Project_Runway/season/5/photos/gallery.php?e=episode_13_finale_part_1

The funniest part of all this was Tim Gunn on a tandem bike ride with Leanne. It was just too much. Seriously. Tim made noises like a little girl boy riding her his bike for the first time. It’s just silly, that’s what it is.

The final challenge the designers had was to add a bridesmaid dress to go with the wedding dress that was part of their collection. Ugh. How *not* ingenious is that idea?

Jerrell’s wedding dress. What girl in her right mind would wear this dress to her own wedding. Maybe as a Halloween costume? That tulle at the hem looks like the cloud of dirt that follows Pig Pen around in Charlie Brown. Not what a bride wants to convey, but perhaps this is a dress that portrays what the bride should look like *after* the wedding night.

And the bridesmaid dress.

Kenley’s wedding dress

The boys over at Project Rungay let us know this is almost a straight on knock off from Alexander McQueen. Tim Gunn simply gushed over this dress. I think I’d feel like an ostrich in it.

And Kenley’s bridesmaid dress

Korto’s dress. Sorry, Korto. Usually your stuff is great, but clearly we’re seeing that evening gowns and bridal gowns are not your forte. This is hideous. 

And I hate to do this, but I’m going to send you back to the boys at Project Rungay because they have the best photos of Leanne’s dresses. They were pretty but I guess I must not really be a fashionista because I don’t fully understand their utter adoration for the dress.

I do however like her bridesmaid dress, but I still don’t like the flaps of fabric she has created as her signature.

Anyhooo. The top three are Kenley, Korto, and Leanne. Sorry Jerrell. I really thought you’d make it. We’ll see who wins. My prediction is Leanne.

What do you think?

5 Comments
  1. October 12, 2008 10:49 am

    loved tim on the bicycle. you could tell he was totally out of his element, but he’s such a good sport that he went along happily. when he walked up to that very modest, plain house, he says, “how adorable” cuz he’s just that nice.

    who *will* win or who *should* win? kenley just might win because the judges are soooo inconsistent. that dress was totally alexander mcqueen, but they gushed over it. whatev. either leanne or korto should win in my book. neither one is exactly my style, but they have a definite look that is original and well made. yeah, the have the occasional clunker, most of their stuff is good. kenley just keeps rehashing the 50’s. part of me wanted jerrell to win because he’s so funny and cute.

  2. Rachel permalink
    October 12, 2008 5:07 pm

    Tim on the bike was probably the highlight of the season for me!

  3. Bev permalink
    October 12, 2008 5:54 pm

    I loved Leanne’s bridal dress…everything else was meh or OMG. You are spot on about Kenley being rewarded in a world where that simply does NOT get rewarded….well, or shouldn’t. I’m sick of her and I’m kinda sick of the whole season, too.

  4. October 13, 2008 12:19 pm

    Ack! I’m so sad that they sent Jerrell home. His dress is fugly, but Korto’s looks much worse. If there are bubbles in hell, they’d look like Kenley’s bridesmaid’s dress.

  5. October 13, 2008 4:56 pm

    The excitement had me on the edge of my seat the whole show. I thought all the bride dresses were not up to par. I feel like LeeAnn is going to win also. I am sorry for Jerrell, but it is nice to have 3 ladies. I am glad they all made up. I am suprized that Kenley made it this far, but there is no way she can win.

Comments are closed.

