Skip to content

Window Shopping

October 14, 2008

One thing I like to do lately is to go window shopping. I like to walk through Nordstrom and other high end stores getting ideas and seeing what’s in style. Friday night, I was in Seattle with my sweetie waiting to get into the Cheesecake Factory. Man, was it busy. So we decided to go for a bit of a walk and ended up in Nordstrom near closing time. We walked through the men’s department and then on the way out went through the shoes.

Why is it that everything I like is the most expensive item in the store?

I saw these boots and thought they’d look incredibly awesome on me – and they would. My sweetie picked up the boot and we looked at the price. Oh. My. Gawd. $349. Can you believe that for a pair of boots? I sure hope they lock them in a safe at night.

UGG® Australia 'Raya' Tall Boot with Buckle Detail

UGG® Australia ‘Raya’ Tall Boot with Buckle Detail

Now, even if I did have these boots, what would you wear them with? I don’t see me – yet – in a pair of skinny jeans tucked into them. Perhaps next winter – definitely next winter – but not yet. Would you wear them with a cute skirt? They remind me of a style of boot I had when I was 17 (circa 1977) where I wore them with the jeans tucked in.

Suggestions? Cuz I might find a knock-off pair somewhere for a fraction of the price. I haven’t had boots in YEARS and I’m really thinking I’d love to have some this year.

I also really like the look of this boot.

Dansko 'Tyra' Boot

Dansko ‘Tyra’ Boot

And speaking of expensive, my eye caught this shoe as well. How utterly darling and classic is this shoe?

Taryn Rose 'Corona' Pump

Taryn Rose ‘Corona’ Pump

At $495 it better be a classic that can last FOREVER. Seriously!

Okay, I’d better get working because if I ever want to be able to afford shoes that are even 10% the price of that one, I need to keep the paychecks coming. Sheesh! I love me that shoe though. Just one more look, k?

Later, peeps. 

3 Comments
  1. October 16, 2008 10:05 am

    Oh my God, I’m the same way! I can somehow zero in on the most expensive item in any situation. I buy most all of my shoes from Zappos, so when I saw an ad in Vanity Fair for a shoe I loved, I figured I’d check it out on Zappos. Well, it turns out that anything by Fluevog starts in the hundreds-of-dollars range. And boots? Forget it, every pair I like is upwards of $200.

    I don’t buy shoes very often — I’m not a very good woman in that respect, as I can’t identify shoe brands and I won’t spend my whole paycheck (or rent check, if you’re a Sex In The City Girl) on a pair of Jimmy Choos, whatever those are. But when I do buy shoes or boots I will part with $100 for a fantastic pair because, like I said, I don’t do it often and I buy quality shoes or boots I can wear them for a decade (telling myself I can afford $10 a year for a good shoe). But why is it that lately everything I like is priced for movie stars and celebrities?!

  2. October 20, 2008 5:29 am

    Those are the only Ugg boots that havent made me say “ug”…I really like those.

Trackbacks

  1. A little exercise in the importance of numbers « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

