Skip to content

A Little Update and Some Fashion Dreaming

October 21, 2008

Not a lot to blog about right now, unless you are interested in my work. I’ve got a really busy work schedule now through November – about 50 hours a week – and I supposed that’s all good. Money, and all that, you know? Plus, the social life is busy too, and that’s all good, but it is leaving no time for sewing. Seriously. In between both work and fun, somewhere I want to sew.

So, if I can’t make time for sewing, I’ll dream about it. I spent a little time this morning over coffee surfing the ‘net and finding styles I like for fall. First, this one. I have no idea who to give credit to for this look, but I love the swishyness of the skirt combined with the boots. I’m totally into boots this fall and want a pair. We’ll see. I also love the warm color, and I believe that outfit is made of jersey fabric, at least the skirt.

Look at these rich jewel tones by Burberry Prorsum for 2008 (www.elle.com)

Burberry Prorsum Fall 2008 Ready-to-wear Collections - 007

This is sleek and rich looking. I would totally wear something like that, minus the hat and gloves.

Burberry Prorsum Fall 2008 Ready-to-wear Collections - 011

Anyone think this next one looks a little Leanne-ish? Did Leanne use designer collections for inspiration as well? Perhaps the Project Runway judges were a bit too harsh on the hated Kenley. Makes me wonder.

Burberry Prorsum Fall 2008 Ready-to-wear Collections - 015

Some cute Michael Kors. I like some of his work. I love the colors. Again, for Fall, rich jewel tones: purples, golds, blues.

Michael Kors Fall 2008 Ready-to-wear Collections - 007

This is very Mad Men (AMC TV) inspired, I think.

Michael Kors Fall 2008 Ready-to-wear Collections - 019

Love the purple, folks. The dress style isn’t very unique though. It’s the fabric that makes it. Again, seems Michael Kors is inspired by 60’s styles.

Michael Kors Fall 2008 Ready-to-wear Collections - 026

This is darling by Blumarine. This is really a sweet color too.

Blumarine Fall 2008 Ready-to-wear Collections - 016

Looking at the fashion blogs, I’m remember that an interest in fashion isn’t a new thing for me. Back when I was 17, or thereabouts, I was deeply interested in sewing and fashion. In fact, one of my career dreams then was to be a fashion designer, if I wasn’t going to be a writer. I didn’t realize that when I went home to my parents in Paris when I was pregnant with my first daughter, they told me that had I stayed they would have sent me to art school in Paris. Wow. My life would have been completely different, but I’m very happy with where I am now and who I am. But that doesn’t stop me from loving fashion, fabrics, and how to adorn the feminine body with awesome looking styles.

Time to wake up and join the real world again. Off to work folks.

2 Comments
  1. October 21, 2008 11:01 am

    I’m not much with the fashion considering I haven’t worn anything but Jeans in 30 some years. But I know I don’t like those tall hats some of those girls are wearing though I can imagine my darling daughter in some of those outfits, especially the last two.

    It sounds like your social life is going well. That’s great. I hope you can find time for sewing. You need to take time to do what you enjoy the most.

  2. October 23, 2008 8:09 am

    I’m into boots this year too! And I really liked all the clothes posted here. I was going to say I’m not normally into fashion but on second thought I know that’s not true, it’s probably more accurate to say I stopped spending money on fashionable clothes once I needed to buy baby clothes, and then kid clothes, and never got back into the habit. I only recently decided not to renew my subscription to W because of time constraints, not because I wasn’t interested. I’ve been reading W for years, and watched Project Runway every season except this one, so I guess I really do have an interest.

    I loved home ec when I was in school, but our sewing teacher was the same woman who taught our cooking semester, so after three or four years with her she began to get on my nerves. She was quite elderly, revered in our town because everyone between the ages of 40 and 13 and had had her and she could do no wrong in the eyes of administration, but her hearing (and her mind) was going. One I showed her a little bag I’d made at home as an assignment (awful thing, really lame) and she accused me of lying, of having purchased it at the store. We had battle after battle, she and I, and she killed my desire for sewing. YOU, however, have renewed it. I will definitely buy a sewing a machine one of these days, even if it’s only to make pillows. P)

Comments are closed.

