Skip to content

Vote, please, and let’s be done with it.

November 4, 2008

First, a short rant

Is anyone else as sick of the election stuff as I am? I know it’s important, and I’m not un-patriotic or anything, but seriously. I’m just tired of it. I voted several days ago by absentee ballot and just want to be done with it.

Yesterday, I got a text message from Verizon Wireless and after spending five minutes interrupting my work to download a video message from them (I thought I was possibly downloading a photo from family), I was presented with a solicitation for V-Cast but the content was more political crap – vote for Obama, vote for McCain using our fabulous V-Cast on your cell phone. Good grief. I got on the phone and called Verizon and told them to stop the text solicitations. How annoying.

And the political junk mail flyers… If the candidates for whatever position or party or proposition took the money it costs to design and print those flyers that go straight into my recycle bin and donated it to the economy or to some poor soul losing their home, we might start to see a change. Just saying.

A little creativity for junk mail

Or maybe I should have made some art from those flyers. Check this out:

Mini Red

(Photo credit: stopjunkmailblog.blogspot.com)

Okay, rant over. You know me, I don’t rant too often, but I’m so not a political person. As my mother says, we won’t go into a black hole if our favorite candidate isn’t elected. My life will continue. I’ll enjoy my family and friends and keep sewing. Right? Maybe I’ll have to spread the wealth some or have less wealth to spend on fabric, but considering I have a ginormous stash right now, that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

 

(Cartoon credit: http://www.lesjones.com/www/images/posts/Politics-essence.gif)

Speaking positively

On a positive note, I have a lunch interview today with a couple more team members of the group I interviewed with on Friday. If you don’t know the history, my current contract with Microsoft (through a vendor agency) was canceled early and cut short – Friday is likely my last day on that project. I love working as a vendor because I have more freedom and flexibility and work from home, plus I can avoid the corporate politics (dang, how did I get back on that topic? hehe). The downside is that contracts can get canceled at a moment’s notice. However, even full-time employees can get laid off at a moment’s notice too, right?

I was told yesterday that as it stands now, it looks like they’ll be bringing me on. I am so grateful. There may end up being a few days without pay (during which I will SEW!) but what’s a few days compared to what it could be? At least I’ll have income during the holidays. And that’s a good thing.

Comments are closed.

