Skip to content

Random Inkings

November 13, 2008

Just a few random things going on with me. It may seem like my blog posts lately are random and unrelated, but my life has been full of various things and I’ll share what I can about those things.

Birthdays

IMG_7070 My daughter’s birthday was fun, and thank you for your good wishes for her. I spent the day hanging out at her house and enjoying the boys. Cayden and I colored together while Evan ate a banana – or rather ate and smeared it all over himself as a nearly-one-year-old will do, requiring a bath when done. We all took a short nap when the boys did. Cayden is such a sweetie and came and cuddled with me when he woke up because his mommy and daddy were still napping. He rode with me in my car on the way to the restaurant. I really treasure those moments. He kept telling me about wanting a “fast tar” (fast car) and I told him how when he was bigger he could visit my brother and go for a ride in his fast car.

(And in case you’re curious, we went to Red Robin and I did really well with staying on plan with Weight Watchers. I chose a Garden Burger, but substituted the patty for a Boca burger (lower points), no mayo, chose mustard instead, and had a cup of steamed veggies, no butter, on the side.)

Next up is Evan’s one year birthday on the 20th of this month. He’s such a big boy. I can’t believe time flew by so fast.

IMG_7059 (2)

Holiday Spirit

Yesterday, my mother and I spent some time together and wandered through Molbak’s – a local garden/nursery place near my home that is overpriced but completely enjoyable if one is trying to get into the holiday spirit. They specialize in plants and garden decor – inside and outside the home. Some of their holiday decorations were exquisite and if I was independently wealthy, I’d have just wrapped up a couple of those trees – fully decorated – and have them shipped to my home. Still I got some wonderful ideas.

WinterWonderful

Wish List

Last night I got my exercise in by walking up and down the local Town Center and stopped to browse through Pier One Imports. I’m glad I did because I saw my new dining table. Now all I need is the money to buy it. LOL. This will fit perfectly in with my decor, my moss green sofas, and my deep cherry hardwood floors. I must have this table and chairs!

image

Sewing activities

Today I’ll be in the sewing room doing something. Not sure what – maybe just cleaning it up and reorganizing it. Maybe sewing the reading pillows that I’ve had on queue for the kids for months now. Maybe I’ll be picking out fabric from my stash and a pattern for a skirt or jacket I’ve had in mind. I need some warmer skirts for fall and winter. I’ll also start figuring out my sewing list for Christmas gifts for special people. Whatever I decide, I’ll take pictures and keep you posted.

Dating

I’m back in the dating world now, too, folks. Figured I’d mention that. Those close to me know the details; the rest I’m leaving off my blog, but let’s just say it wasn’t a good fit for me. I’m not broken hearted. I actually feel more like myself today. I’ve learned a lot more about myself, what I need/want and what I don’t need/want, and for that, I’m grateful for the experience. And isn’t life all about experiences?

That’s all for now, folks. Hope everyone is warm, dry, and happy.

2 Comments
  1. November 13, 2008 9:25 am

    I’m glad you had such a good day with the family and you even got to take a nap. I don’t much think about the holidays until after Thanksgiving. This year we are not doing presents for the first time just Christmas stockings which is my daughter’s idea and a good one. Christmas morning has always been at my house. Sarah would come over early in the morning and we would open our presents. I think I am going to be the one that has a tough time about not buying presents this year. I could care less about getting presents but I love buying them for the kids who just aren’t kids anymore. Something I tend to forget.

    Maybe when I lose some more weight I will join you in the dating world and then again maybe not. I might be a little too selfish for a relationship.

    I love the table. We don’t have a table to eat at in this house. We are so cramped right now with Damon being here but he is leaving for North Carolina this weekend so we will have more room. I will miss him but it’s time for him to go.

    My goodness, this comment is turning into a post. Anyway, have a good day.

    Thanks, Joan. I love the holidays, always have, but often it turns out that I never have the money to decorate how I want or get or make the gifts I really want to make. Someday. Even so, I’m grateful I have my family to share it with. Oh, and dating is overrated, I think. I will get that table… I will… someday.

  2. Bev permalink
    November 13, 2008 5:21 pm

    Birthdays are a fun time. Glad everyone had a good time together and a belated birthday wish to your daughter.

    Was wondering how the dating was going. So now I know!
    You know there is someone out there for you that is just.so.right. I imagine he’s worth waiting for, too! 🙂

    I need new winter clothes, too, but the sewing just ain’t happenin’ these days. Haven’t done a thing in the sewing room for over a year. I miss it.

    You are looking fantastic these days, by the way!

    Thanks, Bev. Yes, now you know. And thanks for saying I look fantastic. I feel pretty good about everything right now, including future prospects. And I’m completely satisfied being alone too if that’s how it’s supposed to be. I have my family and friends and that counts for a LOT.

Comments are closed.

