Skip to content

Making Pillows

November 15, 2008

I started making what I call reading pillows – okay, I’ve only made one – when my friend’s oldest son turned one. He’s now three. I didn’t have a ton of money to spend and I wanted to sew something and the theme of her birthday party was books. She had asked everyone to bring a book as a gift. I then thought of making a huge floor pillow and matching quilt so that he could sit or cuddle up on the pillow while reading those books.

Fast forward to last year or so, my daughter and I picked out fabric for her three kids so I could make them pillows. I have everything I need to get these made and they are so simple, but are they finished? Nope.

Today I am going to make at least one (Evan’s – for his one year birthday next week) if it is the last thing I do! I don’t see why I shouldn’t be able to finish all three – it’s not like making a pillow is hard. I just get distracted with all the other stuff in the sewing room, like the shelf that is installed wrong, or organizing, or whatever.

Yesterday the weather was nice so I decided to take advantage of it and get outside and clear away the dead leaves and dead flowers in my front yard before the Homeowner’s Association starts yelling at me – I no longer have Halloween as an excuse. The yard looks much better. The back yard can wait a while. Besides, I tweaked my back a bit using the lawn mower, which then tweaked my leg joint so I couldn’t walk right, and I had to go to the chiropractor, so that needs to calm down some.

Here’s a pillow I wish I could make and sell. It’s the perfect solution for dog lovers with insomnia. Instant deep sleep. If I could market these, I’d be a millionaire.

IMG_7081

(Left to right: Daisy, Trixie, Lily)

Happy Saturday everyone.

2 Comments
  1. November 15, 2008 7:51 am

    I love those pillows in the photo. I want a couple but I think my cats would destroy them. Well, have fun pillow making.

  2. November 16, 2008 4:38 am

    now that definitely looks like a cure for insomnia. 🙂 if i could have furry little friends draped around me, i would sleep so much better.

Comments are closed.

