Skip to content

What a Snoozer of a Day

November 16, 2008

IMG_7089 

Lily, Trixie, and Daisy (left to right) slept through the Seahawks game. The Seahawks gave it a valiant effort with the return of Matt Hasselbeck, but still, it was a loss. And with the loss goes any remote fantasy of a playoff seat. Not going to happen this year. It’s just been a bad, sad year for the Hawks all around.

The thing about Hawks fans is this: regardless of how badly they play, we still love our Hawks and we show up rain, fog, sleet, or sun to cheer them on. We may sit on our couches and say “they suck” but we watch anyway. Sort of like watching a train wreck, but we also know the possibility of victory and we never lose hope that we’ll be there again.

Okay, so aside from football, what did I do this weekend?

Yesterday I played in the sewing room briefly – cleared off the cutting table at least – and then went out last night and saw Changeling with Angelina Jolie and John Malkovich, and then went to dinner. That is an absolutely incredible movie – heartbreaking, horrific, tragic, and superbly acted and directed. But I advised my oldest daughter not to go see it, simply because of the subject matter. I won’t spoil it for you but if you look up Christine Collins 1928 on Google, you can learn all you want to know.

Today I guess I did more than I thought:

  • Took a nap (that counts as doing something, right?)
  • Washed some fleece (and still washing – who knew I had so much fleece?)
  • Gathered together all the kiddy print fleece, flannel, and cottons out of the garage bins
  • Sewed Evan’s reading pillow (see below)
  • Did several loads of laundry
  • Relaxed

And here, just to prove I really did hit the sewing machine, is Evan’s reading pillow. I made the cording myself from coordinating green flannel that I had in my stash. It’s darling, and just in time for his birthday party. I’m going to design a blanket to go with it – hence the washing of fleece.

IMG_7090

IMG_7091

Front side

IMG_7092

Back side

It took me most of the football game to get this finished because I just took my time. (For me, relaxation is a Sunday sewing while watching football.) I made the cording, and that took about 45 minutes just doing that. But pillows are easy, and this was an easy win to get me back in the saddle.

I’m also starting my list of Christmas presents to make and am going to try to design a little gift for all my Weight Watchers meeting members and my leader as a thank you for all their support – using only scraps from my stash, no less! I’ll keep you posted on how that turns out.

How was your weekend? What did you do?

4 Comments
  1. November 17, 2008 1:48 pm

    congrats on getting that pillow finished. it looks terrific. may he enjoy many hours of reading with that pillow.

  2. November 17, 2008 3:16 pm

    He’s going to just love his pillow and he’ll be the envy of his little friends! I went to see The Changeling too. It was indeed a good movie and even though it was very long, it never lagged.

  3. November 19, 2008 6:53 am

    Mermaids – thanks! It felt good to get it done.

    Laura – you’re right about the movie – it was long but it kept you engaged the whole time. And thanks, I think Evan will love the pillow. He’s a snugglebug.

Trackbacks

  1. Only Two More Days… « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

