Skip to content

Only Two More Days…

November 18, 2008

Till my youngest grandson’s first birthday. The little man was sick yesterday but seems to be doing much better today. His mommy blogged about it, so I won’t repeat it here. (Check her out at http://mamaofthree.wordpress.com)

Meanwhile, since I don’t have a start date on my new contract yet, (hung up by red tape, I’m told) I’m taking advantage of the free time to get some more sewing done. Boy does it feel good to be back in the sewing room. What a stress reliever, that’s for sure.

Today, I made a quilt to go along with the reading pillow I made him a couple days ago. I really had fun doing this.

IMG_7102

I have never pieced together a quilt top like this before, so I had to figure out what size squares to make to even get started. I settled with 9 inch squares, and cut them out at 9.25 square to allow for seam allowances. I used the scrap fabric left over, which wasn’t that much, but enough for a total of twelve squares – six of each pattern. I matched it with a pretty blue flannel I already had in my stash, but I didn’t have enough of that to frame each square, so I butted the large squares together. I think it looks okay. I also filled it with some warm, cotton batting (I don’t recall the brand, but I think it’s Warm & Natural or something like that.)

IMG_7101I am not sure this is the best quilt ever sewn but it’s functional. My perfectionist eye sees some errors, but it will do. I serged most all of it because I didn’t want the seam allowances fraying on the insides and making bumps in the quilt – not sure it would really do that, but I didn’t want to chance it. I then used my conventional sewing machine for the topstitching and anchoring. It still needs more topstitching and the opening closed by hand stitching.

IMG_7104

I just love this fabric. The little lion makes me think of Evan. I mean…. look at the cheeks on the lion… then look at this sweet little face…See the resemblance? Don’t you just want to squeeze him up? He’s so stinking cute even when he is sick.

IMG_3924

In other news…

Weight Watchers yielded another 1.6 pound loss for me last night. Woohoo! I’m one pound away from hitting 50 total. That’s more than two Evans worth (he weighs 23 pounds).

Next up in the sewing room…

Reading pillows for Cayden and Elise because I’m sure that after the birthday party on Saturday, everyone there is going to want some quiet time reading. And Elise is quite the reader now, too!

That’s all for now, folks. Hope you are all well and happy and staying warm.

2 Comments
  1. November 19, 2008 8:24 am

    I do see the resemblance! Everytime I see a pic of him I start channeling that old lady from my childhood church and just wanna squeeze his cheeks! LOL

  2. November 19, 2008 12:53 pm

    the quilt looks terrific. more importantly, i am sure he will *love* it.

    congrats on the weight loss! almost 50 pounds….totally awesome.

Comments are closed.

