Skip to content

Goodness, Gratitude, Glass Half Full Attitude

November 19, 2008

I guess this post sort of falls into my category of Gratitude Month. Today I was reading through blog comments and came back across some comments on Moonbeam McQueen’s blog where someone kept searching about suicide and it made me think of this song by Alanis Morrisette, “That I Would Be Good”, and I wanted to post it here for you. (PS – I got to see her in concert a couple weeks ago, but she didn’t sing this song, dagnabit!)

This is another of my all-time favorite songs. I might even call this my theme song. It is somewhat melancholy, but to me, also somewhat reminiscent of tribal spiritual sounds (the flute, the acapella singing at the end) but the lyrics have such deep meaning, I believe. (I’ve posted them below.) I think that they can apply to anyone – male or female – who strives for some invisible marker of perfection. None of us are perfect, yet somehow many of us are conditioned to believe that deep inside we are flawed somehow. We are not. We are definitely not flawed. This is also a belief that I’ve tried to instill in my daughters since they were small. Sometimes I might not like their choices or their behaviors, but I always love them and am there for them. No matter what. This is a gift my parents gave me and I am passing it on.

Please say a prayer

And I also know that no matter how bleak things get in my little world, they could be worse. Please check out this blog and say a prayer for Lang – in an instant his whole life changed, and that of his loved ones and friends. (Have your tissues handy when you read the blog.) I don’t know this man personally but I am touched by his story. I’ve got him and his family in my prayers.

Glass Half Full Attitude

This isn’t meant to be a depressing post – sorry if it comes across that way. It’s meant to provide a sense of hope and reassurance – at least it does for me – that we all struggle with ourselves and our self-perception, and in some way that brings us all together rather than making us each terminally unique and misunderstood. We all have worries, hopes, triumphs, failures, struggles, and achievements. It’s the human condition. And that makes me joyful because, knowing that, I know I am never alone. And this in turn makes me realize that things are always good – even when they are bad – and there’s something positive to be learned or experienced in every misfortune.

****

I promise my next post will be more upbeat! Tomorrow is Evan’s first birthday!

****

 

 

“That I Would Be Good”

Alanis Morissette

that I would be good even if I did nothing
that I would be good even if I got the thumbs down
that I would be good if I got and stayed sick
that I would be good even if I gained ten pounds

that I would be fine even if I went bankrupt
that I would be good if I lost my hair and my youth
that I would be great if I was no longer queen
that I would be grand if I was not all knowing

that I would be loved even when I numb myself
that I would be good even when I am overwhelmed
that I would be loved even when I was fuming
that I would be good even if I was clingy

that I would be good even if I lost sanity
that I would be good
whether with or without you

3 Comments
  1. November 20, 2008 6:01 pm

    I’m listening to the song as I write this. I have never heard the song before but it is beautiful. To me the song is hopeful and shows how no matter how tough things get there is still goodness around you.

    That’s what I’ve tried to teach my children also. Learn from your mistakes and find the good in everything that happens to you. I think you and I are a lot alike in what we taught our children.

    I’m going to go read Lang’s blog.

  2. November 21, 2008 2:00 pm

    Wow, what a beautiful song and sentiment. I’d never heard this song before, I’m glad you posted it.

    I love her, her voice is ethereal, and her songs are so emotionally raw and lovely. Her hit song “You Oughta Know” was just magnificent; such anger and hurt expressed with that haunting quality she has.

  3. November 21, 2008 3:40 pm

    Joan – I’m glad you heard the hope in the song also. I clung to the words in this song during my divorce and it always fills me up with hope and acceptance. We are a lot alike in how we’ve raised our kids.

    Wendy – you describe Alanis perfectly. I love her songs. She sang one at the concert that I have to find – I think it is about recovery and could be recovery from anything, really. I’ll find it and when I do, I’ll post it.

Comments are closed.

