Skip to content

Pattern Palooza

November 23, 2008

It’s been a very, very long time since I bought patterns. I think. At least I can’t recall the last time I did. Since I’m making gifts for people this Christmas, I  needed – and wanted – some new patterns and McCall’s patterns were on sale at Hancock’s for 99 cents. I took advantage of the sale and stocked up and even got a few patterns for myself. The goal is to use only fabric from my stash and not buy anything new – not that I don’t see all sorts of great fabrics I want to buy I need to make room for new stuff, so… have to use up the old stuff first.

Let’s start the show – in no particular order.

M4643 – I plan on making the bathrobe for Cayden and embellishing it with licensed Cars fabric from remnants of the fabric used for their reading pillows (pics of those at the end of this post). Some matching fleece pjs would be nice to go with it as well.

image of M4643

M5744 – And for Elise, some cute PJs in the horse fabric that she loves, and whatever else is cute from my stash. I have some darling flannel in there somewhere too. This pattern would also work well for some cute summer tops or dresses later – the style is so versatile.

image of M5744

When my daughters were little, I started a Christmas Eve tradition of getting them new PJs. This was to help them go to sleep on a night when sleep was the last thing they wanted to do. Now that they are bigger, I still like to do that, but women’s nice pjs are ridiculously expensive. So… I’m going to try this year to make some.

M5248 – I love the little cami top on these. Again, this pattern could transition nicely into summer basics given the right fabric substitutions. I also hope to make the bathrobe for my mother.

image of M5248

M5534 – This next bathrobe is too darling and I might just have to make one for myself, along with the gown. LOVE IT! I so wish I had an embroidery machine because embroidering a cute pattern on the robe that was special for each of my daughters would be so awesome. Someday… someday…

image of M5534

M5284 – I love the apron trend going on out in the sewing and crafty world these days. Some of them are to die for but expensive, and knowing I’m talented with a sewing machine, I’ll just make my own. I hope to make up a few of these for gifts for some special friends.

image of M5284

M5283 – I needed a new tote pattern. I like both of these because I’m not that experienced at making totes, but like the extra compartments these have. I have plans to make each tote, and the bottom one particularly for Elise for a book bag – again in the horse fabric – to go with her reading pillow.

image of M5283

And now for some patterns for me…

M5717 – I saw a coat like this at a consignment store for an ungodly amount of money and voila! here it is. It’s just too cute. I even like the plaid version. I have a gorgeous black fabric I’ve been saving to make into a coat – this just might be my after-holiday-sewing project.

image of M5717

M5523 – I never used to think I could get away with a straight skirt, but with my weight loss, and recently trying one on in a consignment store, I know I can. I love the gray one – I love all the variations of this skirt, and the seaming makes it easy and flattering to fit.

image of M5523

M5429 – Interestingly, the pattern envelope is different than this image from the website. It shows an ankle length version of the skirt with the flares. Obviously, the mini is not age appropriate for me, nor would it be flattering, but the other two would be darling for that soft purple denim that’s on deck to be used up.

image of M5429

Finally, pictures of the reading pillows that I finished up for Cayden and Elise and gave them yesterday. They both love theirs, and Cayden insisted on having his to sleep on at nap time – although he promptly took a marker and drew on it around the cars. Boys. At least the marker and the pillow are washable.

IMG_7260

IMG_7254

IMG_7255

So, today, I’m putting the sewing room back together (I had to take down the main table so Cindy could use it for Evan’s party) and will get started on one of these projects.

Hmmm, which to do first?

4 Comments
  1. November 23, 2008 10:30 am

    great patterns. love the little wrap style nightie. the grey skirt is fabulous. if you lived a wee bit closer, you could use my embroidery machine. 🙂

  2. November 23, 2008 10:46 am

    Hee hee… might be a bit of a trek over to your place, eh, Teri? But thanks! I may substitute appliques instead. That would work, right? My older daughter loves sunflowers and my younger loves Tinkerbell. I think I’m creative enough to figure *something* out, right? But I sure have a hankering for a nice, new, smooth and quiet-running machine. Mine works just fine, but it’s old, loud, klunky, and I don’t even think it has a walking foot, which would be very handy.

  3. November 23, 2008 11:37 am

    I wish you could make me clothes. You are so darn talented. I love that you can do this! The pj’s are cute!!

  4. November 23, 2008 3:25 pm

    Oooh, lots of good pattern choices. Thanks for sharing! Now, if I could just get my gift sewing done, I’d for sure make the coat and a nighty for myself.

Comments are closed.

