Skip to content

Past the Halfway Mark

November 25, 2008

I did it! I did it!

IMG_7384 (2)

Last night was just a one pound loss for the week, but it meant I hit my midway goal of 50 pounds total weight loss since I started this journey in March. 50 pounds in 8-1/2 months. Wow. I have amazed myself.

Sometimes when you’re changing your lifestyle, things change so slowly that you don’t really realize that anything is different. I know that I’ve shrunk because I’m into a different size of pants (down two sizes) but sometimes I see myself in photos and I still see myself as I was.

Recently, when going through my sewing room I came across something that put it in perspective for me. I found some measurements I took of myself nearly two years ago. I compared them to measurements taken a couple weeks ago and I have lost SEVEN inches off my hips and another SEVEN inches off my waist. How incredibly cool is that?

And to top it off, hitting this goal just before Thanksgiving is going to make it so much easier for me to stay on plan during the holiday gorge-fest.

Weight Watchers has changed my life, and I think that’s because I changed my attitude. I knew my way was not working, so I let go and followed directions completely, not just halfway. I also look at this not as a diet, because they don’t last, but as a way to live healthy, and learn to eat normally. My ultimate goal is to be a healthy weight, to be able to be active around my family and little grandchildren, and to feel great in clothes that I work so hard to make. My fibromyalgia will always be there, as will my lower back degenerative disc disease, but with healthy eating and moderate activity, I can minimize those ailments and not let them cripple me.

Have I mentioned how much I love Weight Watchers?

(I promise to post some new pictures of me soon!)

13 Comments
  1. November 25, 2008 10:26 am

    Wow! Congratulations! And a big pat on the back to you for changing your life in such a wonderful and positive way!

    You have a lot to be thankful for, too.
    High on that list should be your strength to do what needs to be done!
    Not many people can learn to stop making excuses and actually do something about the things they do not like.

    Way to go, girl!

  2. mchenrycards permalink
    November 25, 2008 10:38 am

    Congrats.. Keep it up. It will be so worth it when you accomplish your goal

  3. November 25, 2008 11:04 am

    Trisha – you are so right. So many people just play victim and make excuses and heck – I used to make many excuses myself, even though I never felt like a victim. Thank you for reminding me that I’m strong and that’s a good thing!

    Mchenry – thanks! It will be worth it, that’s for sure.

  4. Julie permalink
    November 25, 2008 11:30 am

    Great job! I am doing Weight Watchers too and I just love it even though I am struggling a little bit now. I love your attitude. It is definitely a lifestyle change.

    Love the reading pillows-they are really cute!

    Looking forward to seeing your sewing creations.

  5. Mary permalink
    November 25, 2008 11:36 am

    Congratulations! That is so awesome! I was just checking out weightwatchers as my weight has been creeping up over the last couple years. I was overweight as a child and struggled with anorexia as a teenager, so I have to be very careful in my approach to food and weight loss. Thanks for inspiring me. Mary

  6. November 25, 2008 11:41 am

    Julie – Struggles are all part of the program. I used to think I was unique and the weeks of a pound or two weight gain wouldn’t happen to me. Boy was I wrong. I learned to keep on keeping on and persevere. And eventually you have progress! You can do it too. Just don’t give up.

    Mary – The thing that I love about Weight Watchers is it is a healthy eating and living lifestyle and they teach you so much more than just how to eat right or what to eat. They teach you about attitudes and taking care of yourself. And they hire the top nutrition experts to figure out what is the healthiest approach to take – not some fad diet that is only focused on the scale. Sometimes there are other measures of success than the scale. Give it a try!

  7. Judi S permalink
    November 25, 2008 11:59 am

    Congratulations! You have really worked hard and I thank you for sharing this journey on your blog. You inspire and encorage even though you may not know it.

  8. November 25, 2008 12:05 pm

    Wow, thanks, Judi! It’s humbling to know that. πŸ™‚ And gratifying. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  9. blogfree Jessica permalink
    November 25, 2008 3:27 pm

    Way to go, that is just awesome!!!!!

  10. November 25, 2008 3:46 pm

    dude, you rock! πŸ™‚

  11. Bev permalink
    November 25, 2008 7:03 pm

    Wow. Just wow. I’m so proud of you!

    A big high five and butt-bump from me to you, all these miles away! πŸ™‚

  12. Cherie permalink
    November 26, 2008 8:29 am

    I add to the list my kudos to you – that is just awesome!

  13. November 29, 2008 12:47 pm

    Thanks, everyone! I appreciate the support and congrats sooo much. It’s very encouraging. Thank you!

Comments are closed.

