Skip to content

Black Friday Shopping Observations and Recipe Recap

November 28, 2008

I have a new tag line that the Walmart marketers should use.

Walmart: America’s Crap Superstore.

Or not.

Sadly, the majority of shoppers at Walmart today were oblivious to any talk of a recession. They were blissful in their delusion that credit cards equal free money. They crowded the aisles with their shopping carts filled with irresistable bargains and stuffed more in their baskets with a crazed look like a starving child who might never get another bite of solid food again.

Proudly (and a bit self-righteously I suppose), I did not succumb to the temptation to buy more crap I didn’t need – and cannot afford – just because it was shiny and new or discounted beyond reason.

Not that I haven’t been one of those shoppers in the past. I have. And I’ve been just as crazy and delusional, and who knows? If I had money today, perhaps I would have picked up some great deals. I know my daughter went there for a few select items and she stuck to her list and did very well.

However, it’s the excess of shopping, the craziness, and the depths to which the marketers and big business have pushed us and the volume of sheer garbage that line the shelves that impressed me most today. I just watched and observed and turned those observations in toward myself and my own behavior. Where do I do the same things? Buying things just because they are on sale? Or buying without a specific purpose? Buying because it has some cute Disney or Pixar character on it.

And I forgot my Bingo card. Dangit.

IMG_7412I was so proud of my daughter’s centerpiece yesterday. Mom bought her the ivy tree and we decorated it completely from stuff we already had. A fully decorated one like this at Molbak’s would have been an easy $60. We paid a fraction of that and I know my daughter had fun decorating it.

 

Okay, enough of my rant on consumerism…

The cheesecake was fabulous. Wonderful. Mom loved it and it was a hit. The green beans were great too, and people liked them better than the kind that are packed with deep fried onions and cream of chicken soup. The candied sweet potatoes were to die for. YUM.

Here’s the recipe for the green beans: http://www.weightwatchers.com/food/rcp/index.aspx?recipeid=135341

I altered this recipe by adding mushrooms to the green beans. You could also lower the points value by skipping the slivered almonds. They really weren’t necessary, I don’t think.

Here’s the candied sweet potatoes recipe:
http://www.weightwatchers.com/food/rcp/index.aspx?recipeid=87041

The next time I make the candied sweet potatoes, I’d alter the recipe to not precook the sweet potatoes. It seemed like I had more liquid that never did dry up like it should, therefore, the sweet potatoes ended up being more mushy than they should have been.

I can’t give you the recipe for the pumpkin cheesecake because it’s out of the current Weight Watchers magazine. Copyright and all that, you know. You’ll have to go pick up a copy of that issue to find it.

And here’s me, my mom, and my youngest daughter waiting to eat

IMG_4349

And Cayden and I goofing around while I peel the sweet potatoes. I told him it was a microphone and he was singing into it.

IMG_4276

That’s all for now. Hope everyone is having a great holiday weekend. Hopefully after tomorrow I’ll have some sewing progress to share with you.

3 Comments
  1. April permalink
    November 28, 2008 6:44 pm

    Claire, you look GREAT! Congrats on the weight loss.

    Sounds like you all had a GREAT Thanksgiving. 🙂

    Thanks, April. I hope you had a great holiday too. Looking forward to seeing pictures of yours.

  2. November 29, 2008 3:54 am

    i agree….you look GREAT!

    love the walmart bingo card. my boys and i say “a trip to walmart is not complete unless you see/hear a small child screaming.”

    i also agree about the over spending. dh “owes” me a few birthday & anniversary gifts. i asked him to not buy me anything because there really wasn’t anything i wanted. seems silly to buy *something* simply because the calendar tells you to.

    Thanks, Teri. I have so wanted to take that Bingo card with me, scratch everything off and jump up and down in the center of an aisle yelling out “BINGO!”. Unfortunately, no one but me would get the joke. Or I could video tape it. That would be funny.

    It is funny how we (society) seem to be dictated by the calendar, isn’t it? We’ve forgotten why we do things. My brother has to spend a huge sum on surgery for their doggie this year so was apologetic that he couldn’t send anyone gifts. Um. I would *rather* he spend on his doggie (their child) than buy me gifts just because. There’s nothing I need right now anyway. Lots I want, but nothing I need.

  3. December 1, 2008 12:00 pm

    You. Look BEAUTIFUL. You really-really do. A table with three beautiful ladies, what a great photo of you all.

    And a standing ovation to you for not succumbing to the Walmart madness. It is so crazy, isn’t it? Here in El Paso there was a newspaper article encouraging the people in Juarez to come over and spend their yearly bonus (I have no idea what this bonus is for but I think they get it from their government), and I found that really disgusting. Enticing a poor country to come spend their money on nothin but crap. And then, of course, the Walmart workers send their money back to family in Juarez, so I guess it works for them.

    Your idea for calling Walmart “America’s Crap Store” is so funny because a friend of mine was telling me she has brainwashed her 5-year-old into thinking the store is really named “Crap-Mart.”

Comments are closed.

