Skip to content

Saturday Sewing Fun

November 29, 2008

Here’s what’s up next on the sewing table today.

McCall’s 4218 (I think this might be out of print, since I’ve had the pattern for a while.)

I’m making this for my mother. She had bought me a second dress form a few years ago in her size hoping I’d make some things for her. I made a few items for her for our trip to Hawaii in November 2006, but haven’t made anything for her since. I’m feeling a bit guilty, plus she is in DIRE need of a new bathrobe. I had bought her a gorgeous one from Victoria’s Secret over 10 years ago and she is just now throwing it away. I think she’s deserving of a custom, new one from me this year. Besides – I’m sewing this completely from everything already in my fabric stash and pattern collection, so I’m not spending a dime. She’ll be happy about that as well.

This is the fabric I’ve chosen. It is some soft cotton that I found on the clearance table either at Hancock’s or Joann’s some years ago. I’ve kept it particularly for a bathrobe. It’s not really as purple as this first picture shows – it has some soft silvery tone to it, but it’s hard to photograph.

IMG_7437

This next picture shows the reverse side.

IMG_7447

Depending on how it comes out of the wash, I will probably not line it. No lining makes that job a bit easier, and also makes the robe transition nicely for a summer robe. I will, however, use a contrasting lavender satin type fabric for the shawl collar, cuffs, and perhaps even make some tiny cording (piping) to go around the seams. I think it will be lovely, and she’ll enjoy it.

Meanwhile, while the fabric is washing and drying, I’ll be cutting out different fabric to sew up other items for family members and friends. Some of those family members and friends – not my mom – read this blog, so I can’t say what they are, unless I’m talking about stuff for the little people aka grandkids.

More later. Happy Saturday!

2 Comments
  1. November 29, 2008 2:25 pm

    that will be gorgeous!!

  2. November 30, 2008 5:14 am

    Lucky Mom ! Beautiful fabric !

Comments are closed.

