Skip to content

A New Week, A New Month

December 2, 2008

I’m excited about this month, even though I have some challenges ahead. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt good about the holiday season. I really don’t have any obvious reason for feeling optimistic. I have financial challenges ahead from my recent – but brief – period of unemployment. I can’t go buy presents for people or my grandchildren – again, no money. Things will be very tight for awhile.

But I have a different attitude this year. I have a different body than I had this year last time. My health is so much improved. Although I did have a fibro flare yesterday, my fibro is a tad tamer, or I’m just not paying attention to it. Maybe that’s why I am more optimistic.

For gifts, I will sew for my immediate family – what I can get done in time, that is. And I have a job that I started today that will go for at least six months – time enough for me to get back on track and a bit ahead.

Also, I went to my Weight Watchers meeting last night and was down .4 (one half) pound. This is great considering that Thanksgiving is such a food-focused holiday. I didn’t gain any weight. I also talked to my leader about my goal weight and we determined a number that I should aim for (not my original number) and see how my body settles at that weight. So, I pulled out my handy-dandy calculator to see what the difference was and…..

38.6 pounds left to go.

Boy, is that ever motivating! Considering how far I’ve come already, that number feels like a piece of cake – no pun intended.

Sunday, my daughter and I put up our Christmas lights outside. Although we won’t have a tree this year – and I’m okay with that – inside the house looks festive.

My daughter and I made some cute stockings for the doggies and I’ll post pictures of those soon. I love crafty holidays anyway. I much prefer them to ones where I am able to go shopping for things in the crazy malls. I’m so past those days.

Anyway, it will be a great month, I know it. I’m looking forward to it, whatever surprises it holds for me – good or not so fortunate. Either way, I have my family and friends and that’s the best gift of all.

Off to work… down the hall…how cool is that?

Lily-Puter 

A little Lily sweetness for you.

3 Comments
  1. December 2, 2008 10:03 am

    Best photo ever.
    Oddly, I’m feeling pretty good this Christmas myself, although I have no reason to. I’ve got no money for gifts, won’t be with my kids, and my job is in on the line. But for some reason I’m feeling pretty good. Weird, huh?
    You, on the other hand, have so many reasons for this new-found holiday spirit. You’ve accomplished a lot in this past year and you should be proud of yourself. 🙂

    Wendy, I knew you’d like that photo. I have more Lily sweetness to post soon. Isn’t it odd how despite adversity the human spirit for goodness prevails? I know that sounds sickly syrupy and trite, but I feel it more now than ever. Thank you for all your wonderful encouragement along the way, too. It’s helped more than you may ever know. But I hope you know. 🙂

  2. December 2, 2008 11:05 am

    Adorable pup!

    Congratulations on your attitude! I’ve had a few challenges over the last two years and know exactly how your spirit can be dampened by such things. I am also feeling excited and enthusiastic about this Christmas for the first time in a couple years.

    I’m happy for you and wish you great success in getting rid of those last pounds!!

    Thanks, Bonnie. That’s my little Chihuahua, Lily. She’s still a baby at one and a half. I’m glad you are excited for the holidays as well. It’s all about our attitude, really, when it comes down to it, isn’t it? And I will lose those pounds! Then, watch out world! Tee hee.

  3. December 5, 2008 1:39 pm

    i firmly believe attitude makes such a huge difference and success breeds success.

Comments are closed.

