Skip to content

New Weight Watchers Plan Unveiled Today

December 4, 2008

Hooray! Not that Weight Watchers needed fixing by any means, but they’ve improved their program by introducing the Momentum™ plan today.

Go here to learn more: http://www.weightwatchers.com/index.aspx

Here’s my take on it so far – and after only reading the web site materials and not yet getting instruction from my leader, so my knowledge is limited. (I’ll get the skinny (pun intended) on it from my leader at my regular meeting on Monday.)

I like it! The essential theory behind it is basic: burn more calories than you consume to lose weight. A second feature to the plan is that they’ve combined the Flex and Core plans into the one Momentum™ plan. Finally, they are focusing on educating people on how to choose more filling foods (foods with more fiber and water content) so they aren’t hungry. They’ve done this by identifying a list of Filling Foods so when we plan our meals or snacks we can be assured that the foods we choose won’t leave us hungry in half an hour. How many of us trying to lose weight have had that experience? <raises hand!>

I think this last feature is so helpful. There are so many people I know (me included) that often get hungry and choose the easy option, and usually it’s not that filling. This is great for me because I’ll start to make even wiser choices and choose filling foods for snacks and meals and it will become second nature.

And I know this will work for me, because my way wasn’t working. I can’t wait to get started using this new plan.

I “heart” Weight Watchers.

 

*** Edited to add: If you are a Weight Watchers online subscriber, your favorite foods list has been updated to indicate which of your favorites are filling foods. You’ll see a green diamond next to the item. How cool is that? You can easily go back and figure out if that favorite snack you always liked is a “filling food”. This is so cool.

3 Comments
  1. December 4, 2008 1:09 pm

    Do you have any experience with the online Weight Watchers? We move around a lot with work so signing up and going to a local meeting is just out. Help, I want to be skinny!! Not really, just healthy!

    Oh my gosh, Woody, yes! I have the monthly pass so it gives me access to all the online tools and as many meetings *anywhere* as I want. It’s about $39 a month – you’ll have to check their site – and then as you move around, you can still go to meetings. I did that when I went on vacation to Kansas. I found a WW center near my brother and still went on Mondays for my weigh ins and sat in for the meeting. Their online tools are fantastic – seriously. They calculate the points for you and you can keep track of your favorite foods and just drag and drop them into your daily food tracking. That’s only the tip of what the online stuff does for you. It’s a great way to go. It’s working for me anyway.

    (Hey, maybe I should get paid to promote WW. What do you think?)

    Let me know if you sign up!

  2. December 4, 2008 1:21 pm

    This sounds very interesting. It’s the not feeling full that usually turns me off on any diet other than a low-carb diet, and I’m now feeling like those just aren’t healthy no matter what they claim.

    You’re right, Wendy. When I’m hungry, it seems like I lose brain cells and forget everything I’ve learned about healthy food choices.

  3. December 5, 2008 1:25 pm

    Oh, I am going to have to go to my recipes section right now. I’m pretty good at knowing what will fill me up. First protein then fiber. I can’t live without high fiber Vitalicious muffins. They are only one point with 6 grams of fiber. It’s my go to snack. This all sound good to me. I have to wait until next Saturday to hear about it I think. I heart weight watchers too. I should hit over 90 pounds this week.

Comments are closed.

