Skip to content

Real or Fake? What’s your preference?

December 7, 2008

IMG_7622I’ve always loved the smell of a real Christmas tree. It’s great to come downstairs on a weekend morning and turn on the lights on the tree and enjoy the aroma blended with the aroma of fresh-brewed coffee. Nummm.

One out of two ain’t bad.

This year, I finally got a fake tree. I found this beauty at Big Lots on sale for $56. It’s just as nice as the $150 ones from Lowes. It’s got a narrow footprint (that is, it doesn’t take up a lot of room on the floor) and even comes complete with fake pine cones.

The nice thing about a fake tree is no mess. Really. No trying to fit the fat trunk into a tree holder by digging in the garage for the hacksaw you only use once a year and acting like a crazy woman sawing the danged thing on your front porch, or worse yet, in your living room. No trying to get it to stand up straight. No bare spots where the tree grew wonky. No worrying about cats mistaking the underneath of it for a litter box (not that I’ve ever had that happen, but I’ve worried about it). No water spilling out of the tree holder and ruining my new hardwood floors. No sap dropping onto the floor and no pine needles to sweep up continuously for the next three months.

IMG_7629

I’m not bah-humbug about it, really I’m not. If it weren’t for all the aforementioned reasons, plus the recurring cost each year, I’d have a real one right now. Plus, my kids would never let me have one before.

So here it stands, undecorated. That’s because I put it up last night and was exhausted. Not from putting up the tree, but from the activities of the last 24 hours. I’ve been quite busy with work, went out Friday night, and then I was able to do some errands yesterday to find some sweet things for my darling grandbabies. After all the walking yesterday, I was plum exhausted. And you know you can’t put up decorations without doing a thorough housecleaning first, right? Of course not!

So, today I’m going to be in the sewing room while watching football. We’ll watch the Seahawks (my mom’s going to the game in the rain) even though, as mom says, they’d lose to a Kindergarten team. I’ll be finishing up the bathrobe for said mother, and making a tree skirt for that tree. Danged if I was going to pay $40 for something that was fugly and plain and cheap looking. We’ll see if I can do any better. I’m sure I can – even without an embroidery machine.

After that, if I still have time, on to sewing for other people. Or I may just divert and sew that new top for myself for the holidays that I have designed in my head. I have some parties to go to this season and it would be nice to have something festive to wear.

So, what’s your preference? Real or fake trees, and why? Do tell.

7 Comments
  1. yellow6347 permalink
    December 7, 2008 8:23 am

    I prefer a real tree, but allergies say get an artificial tree. I think both are beautiful and after all, Christmas is in your thoughts and your heart. I like the smell of the real pine, but a good pine scented candle with fix that problem.

    I think you will have a wonderful Christmas with the Big Lot’s tree and a heart for Christmas.

    Brenda Hudson

  2. Elaina permalink
    December 7, 2008 10:33 am

    I always liked fake. Of course, by the time I grew up and could get a real one, my son was allergic to them like my brother was, so I’ve never had them on my radar.

    Growing up, I never thought of anything different, and now as an adult, I never look at real ones.

  3. Bev permalink
    December 7, 2008 11:16 am

    I caved on a fake tree about 3 years ago and wouldn’t go back. I agree with all the reasons you stated, but add one: I hated taking down the ornaments on a real tree when it was dry and needles so hard that they stuck you. Bah.

    We haven’t put up our tree yet. I guess I had better seriously think about doing that sometime soon.

    By the way, your mom is such a hoot! Mine wouldn’t go to church this morning because there is a cold wind. Aargh.

  4. December 7, 2008 11:26 am

    I have always gotten real trees. Even when I lived alone I was forced to get a real one or the kids wouldn’t have shown up for Christmas. They always bought, decorated and took the tree down and cleaned up so that was fine with me. I didn’t have to do anything. My daughter would never get a fake tree.

    One year when I was young my Dad came home with a fake tree. My sister and brother and I were so horrified we made him put it up in the kitchen and go buy us a real one. I don’t know what made him think he could sneak a fake tree into our living room.

    OMG, I just noticed it’s snowing on your blog. How did you do that? Wicked Cool!!!!

  5. December 7, 2008 2:21 pm

    I like artificial, but my husband insists on real. We were divorced for three years and the first Christmas I bought an artificial tree on Thanksgiving and put it up that evening. I loved that tree, but now that we are remarried, it’s all about the compromise. I can live with real if it means that much to him. Mary

  6. December 8, 2008 8:00 am

    so you will have one afterall! Yay! Thats actually the shape I wanted and could not find (at a reasonable price anyway) I love a slender tree like that.

    I like the smell and experience of a real tree…but I usually travel at Christmas, and a real tree would mean either fire hazard or me rushing to get it down. So, fake it is.

    • December 8, 2008 3:00 pm

      Yes I will. Santa came early and gave me a little spending money, so that was awesome. Santa said I’d been struggling long enough. I knew I’d been a good girl and so I bought an economical tree. 🙂

Comments are closed.

