Skip to content

WW Filling Foods (Momentum Plan)

December 10, 2008

Weight Watchers (WW) launched their Momentum plan this last week and I’m really excited about it. I’m using it as an opportunity to kick start me into the last third of my weight loss journey. How appropriate is the name of their new plan? I needed a little new momentum. Haha.

One aspect of this fabulous new plan is focusing on learning good eating habits and how to choose different, more filling foods rather than just eating less of what we already ate. Doing that (just eating less) usually leaves us hungry, bored, and we end up stalling out on our weight loss, or worse, getting bored and frustrated and giving up.

So, as I learn new things, I’m going to post them here.*

Snacks.

Usually about three hours after my routine breakfast of oatmeal and bananas, I’m hungry again. Then I want to raid the refrigerator and find something to fill me up, but I don’t want to use up a lot of points. I want something that will carry me over until lunch time. I also want something quick and easy.

Today I felt inspired. Instead of a quick 2 point Weight Watchers snack bar, which never fills me up, I chose cottage cheese and mandarin oranges for the same points value.

1/2 c fat free cottage cheese

1/4 c canned mandarin oranges in light syrup (lightly rinsed)

Voila! Now I’m good to go until lunch.

IMG_7664

 

(*Disclaimer: I am only a Weight Watchers member and not paid to write for them. I just love their program and all it has taught me and the success I’ve had on it seems to motivate and inspire others, so I choose to share it here on my blog, along with my other life stories, family adventures, and my love of sewing.)

5 Comments
  1. December 10, 2008 12:34 pm

    I can’t wait for Saturday to hear all about it. I’m a little too lazy right now to go look it up online. Those weight watcher bars and snacks never fill me up which is why I eat the Vitalicious muffins for 1 point and 6 grams of fiber and only 9 grams of sugar.

    I love cottage cheese I think I will get some. Great Idea. I used to season it up in a savory way and use it as a dip for raw veggies.

    Joan – I never thought about cottage cheese as a dip for raw veggies. You are so smart. I will have to try that!

  2. December 10, 2008 7:28 pm

    I’ve never used weight watchers myself but I’ve always felt that they have the most realistic approach to weight loss. I have to eat all day long and I can’t go more than a few hours without eating. In order to do this, I don’t eat everything all at once. For example I start my day with coffee, then at work I eat a banana, then a couple of hours later I’ll eat my yogurt and then it’s lunch time. I either have a huge salad or a can of soup (instead of bread or crackers I throw in some seasoned croutons). A couple of hours later I make hot tea and usually have a snack sized candy bar etc… If I can’t go straight home after work (and by then I’m hungry again) I have yet another yogurt. Dinner is stretched out all night and not eaten all at once. Since I’m single this is pretty easy to do. You really can eat anything you want, just in moderation and it’s worth it if you end up feeling good and staying healthy. And I realize what I said sounds pretty spartan but believe me I eat quite a bit. Keep up your good work!

    Laura – you are right. They do have a realistic approach to weight loss. It’s called a lifestyle change. I’ve been studying it – as I do anything new I try – and last week, watching the Biggest Loser they said that the first winner had gained all his weight back because he didn’t learn anything. Education is a key component of the WW strategy – learning to change behaviors, thinking, and habits, not just reducing what you eat and still eating crap. Look at all the celebrities that yo-yo their weight because they just go on diet after diet. And for you, you have the right approach. Moderation, spreading the intake out, and not eating more than you can burn off in a day. Simple as that, right?

  3. Meagan permalink
    December 17, 2008 7:52 am

    Well I have been doing weight watchers for wuite some time and I have lost over fifty pounds between both plans. Now that they had merged the two plans together I am always looking for filling foods to keep me satisfied for a low point value. So this is a question that I have been dwelling on for quite some time. So if anyone could help me out that would be fantabulous. :)))

  4. December 17, 2008 9:51 pm

    Hey, hope this comment works I’m still somewhat new to this whole blogging thing.
    interesting post! I discovered your blog while
    searching for other people’s weight loss experiences. I’ve actually just started blogging about
    my weight loss calculator – I lost over 30 pounds in a month
    with a diet I developed!

    I would really appreciate it if you could stop by my weight loss blog and tell me what you think.
    Warmest wishes,
    -Joan

  5. February 4, 2009 10:29 am

    I just clicked on this link on your blog. Have you heard of Volumetrics? I actually have the book, although you don’t need it. The idea is basically to add vegetables to everything to increase volume so you can eat more food for fewer calories. I do this a lot, but I love veggies so it is easy for me.

    I also love cottage cheese and I usually make it into dessert. I mix in a spoonful of cocoa powder and a packet of splenda to make sort of fake chocolate cheesecake. to make it even better, microwave some sliced strawberries (or whatever fruit you like) and add to it. Yummy, low-cal and low-carb, and lots of antioxidants!

    Birdpress – I have heard of volumetrics but haven’t looked into it. I think the idea is similar. What I like about WW is the accountability and discipline and fellowship – it seems to work for me because I have none on my own. šŸ˜‰ I will have to try using cottage cheese to make a dessert. Cool idea. šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

