Skip to content

Cold as a…

December 15, 2008

According to the news, a lot of people across the US are feeling the cold snap. For us, up here in the Pacific Northwest, it’s like living somewhere else. Somewhere arctically (is that a word?) cold. This week we’re lucky if temperatures will get above freezing, more snow is predicted later this week, and they even warn of frostbite danger. You can get frostbite if exposed to the cold at this temperature for longer than 15 minutes. Something like that. I didn’t do my due diligence and look up the real facts for you – you’re on your own there.

But… I am not complaining. Yes, I’m cold. But I don’t have to commute or go outside in this cold unless I choose to (and I choose to tonight for my weekly Weight Watchers meeting.) I have a good little space heater that supplements my forced air heat in my home and I have a pot of chili for lunch to keep me warm inside the belly.

Plus, I have sunshine outside to look at. Yes, folks, even though it’s bitterly cold, the sun is out. Sun for me is an energy producer – even if it’s freezing outside. It makes me feel better regardless. I know I’m not unique there.

So I thought I’d share a couple pictures with you of the view from my office desk.

Looking down on my car in the driveway, which hasn’t been driven in several days. Usually a couple days after a snowfall up here, this is all gone.

IMG_7875

Looking out towards the main road going up the hill. The school kids stand at that stop sign to wait for the bus. I felt so bad for them this morning.

IMG_7876

That patch in the shade there is pure ice. It never melts until the temperatures get warmer because it never gets any sun. It’s amusing to watch people try to accelerate from that stop sign. Many just spin their wheels.

And that hill in the background? Usually by now, kids have been sledding down it or making snowmen or throwing snowballs. Just proves how cold it is out – even the kids aren’t playing.

Now that I’ve distracted myself for a few minutes, I have to get back to work! Another thing I’m grateful for. 🙂

Stay tuned, I’ll be updating you on progress in the sewing room soon. I’ve got the bathrobe almost done, but I’m not happy with certain parts of it at all.

2 Comments
  1. December 15, 2008 12:44 pm

    Looks cold but it sure is beautiful. Especially when you have the choice of leaving the house or not. At least you can find the positive in it and that is great.

  2. December 16, 2008 11:15 pm

    makes me cold to even look at it. brrrr. we have one of those “icy forever” patches near my house…..at it is a stop sign at the top of an incline. makes for a fun commute to school.

Comments are closed.

