Skip to content

Picture Postcards – Inside and Outside

December 17, 2008

It’s been snowy and icy here since Sunday. And we’ve got another round of snow predicted tonight – up to three inches where I live. I’ve been out of the house twice since Sunday. Once my daughter drove me to Joann’s so that I could pick up a pattern on sale, and yesterday I went out to dinner. I’m going a tad stir crazy and in desperate need of some exercise.

So, I decided to do a couple things during my “lunch hour” today. (Since I work from home I really don’t have a lunch hour, but I do like to take an official break midday sometime and step away from the computer.)

While taking my break, I thought it would be fun to capture a few photos of the winter and holiday season here in my neck of the woods.

First, some inside shots of decorations we have here and there around the house. Definitely makes it feel cozy and festive.

Door knob whimsy

IMG_7880

Definitely NOT feeling like this dude this year. We love the Grinch though because my oldest is the original Cindy Lou Who.

IMG_7881

Speaks for itself. Believe it or not, my mother gave me that bear a few seasons back. LOL.

IMG_7883

Stockings ready – even for the pups. We made their stockings. Can you tell? 😉

IMG_7884

More whimsy

IMG_7886

The Tink Girl must have her own tree.

IMG_7888

Hanging by the back door….

IMG_7891

Christmas cat

IMG_7892

Baking center

IMG_7894

Door decorations

IMG_7896

Giant ornaments. My youngest cracks up every time she describes these. I have no idea why. 😉

IMG_7897 

Doorbell warnings. This cracks me up too.

IMG_7899

Even the office gets decorated. Does yours?

IMG_7900

And for outside………..

Poor puppies – I wonder if their little toes get cold.

IMG_7878

The first snowmen I’ve seen outdoors all season. I suspect it’s just been too cold for most kids. The one on the right looks like a pig, though. Strange nose.

IMG_7902

A little winter holly

IMG_7908

Views from the local high school about a mile from me. Boy was it windy up there. But seriously. How can a high school kid focus on anything when there’s that spectacular view? Ya, probably they’re not busy looking out the windows right?

IMG_7910

IMG_7911

IMG_7912

Now, for some hot cocoa and back to work.

6 Comments
  1. veedogknitter permalink
    December 17, 2008 2:55 pm

    i love how everyone still celebrates with a snowman when it snows in Seattle! I moved to snow-country last year (hubby is in the Army), and there is snow here from Nov-April, and you never see snowmen. I still make my snow angels though! Love your decorations! One of these days, i am going to make a snow man. My parents are coming from Seattle next week, and i think it would make them smile to see one in the yard!

  2. December 18, 2008 9:27 am

    Wonderful photos, LM! The stockings are adorable (they look professional to me, so I probably wouldn’t have known you made them!), and I love love love the pink tree! The snowmen are so cute, and you’re right about the pig one! And oh, your header is gorgeous. Thanks for posting all these great phots.

  3. December 18, 2008 9:28 am

    photos.
    Ugh!

  4. December 18, 2008 9:56 am

    Veedog – When my oldest grandson was a baby, my daughter and her family lived with me. We had snow then. There’s a little corner near our house where they went and made a snowman and took pics. I’ll have to find those pics. No one around here has made a snowman there since and I keep looking out my office window at that spot and I’m so sad that they aren’t here to build one with me. They live 20 minutes away, but with this weather it might as well be an continent away.

    Wendy – They are all store-bought stockings, only we decorated the pink ones with puffy paint, stick on jewels and glitter. That’s the part that’s all home crafty-ish looking to me. But they’re fun, and the doggies don’t know the difference.

    And I like your new word. Let’s use it. Phots they are. LOL.

  5. December 19, 2008 5:59 am

    I absolutely LOVE the color of the walls by your back door…

  6. December 19, 2008 7:26 am

    VV – Me too. And I wish I could tell you what color that was. It was a total fluke. It was a mismix tin at Lowes for $5 – premium high gloss – so I have it in my kitchen. That slider/back door is right next to the kitchen. It looks blue/gray in some lights and blue/green in other lights.

Comments are closed.

