Skip to content

A little comparison for ya

December 21, 2008

And yes, this is another tedious snow post. That’s about the most interesting thing going on around here right now. Well, I’ve been sewing but I’ll save that for a separate post, and also since some of the giftees read this blog, I can’t post about it until after Christmas.

This “snow event” has been going now for a week or so. It’s been off and on, but more off than on. I’m starting to get a bit stir crazy though, that’s for sure. I’d be out playing in it or tromping around walking but I just don’t have the proper gear (read: shoes) for snow and I’m not willing to freeze or get sick.

Meanwhile…here’s how much it snowed overnight.

The back yard bench seat two days ago. I thought this was a lot of snow then.

IMG_7921

The bench this morning – and that’s not a dirty lens. It’s still snowing.

IMG_8006

The front yard lights before last night – these lights are on little stakes about six inches high or so.

IMG_7930

The same lights this morning at 6 a.m. (We usually leave them on at night – it’s just so pretty.)

IMG_8000

IMG_7983

This *is* really cool though.

IMG_7987

IMG_7992

IMG_8024

We must have gotten a good half a foot over night. And it was windy because it drifted up onto the front porch, which never happens when it snows here. We can always sit on this chair and look out and not get snowed on.

IMG_7982

IMG_8007

IMG_8009

IMG_8011 

Forecast all week long shows snow in some form or quantity (less than last night, though) and they say it will take a long time for all of this to go away. (Then we’ll have to deal with flooding.) So, a White Christmas it will be. I’m so looking forward to it!

So very pretty, isn’t it? Makes me want to stay in my jammies and sew all day long. Which I’m going to do. 🙂 While watching the Seahawks game.

9 Comments
  1. December 21, 2008 9:40 am

    We are getting rain here in the Northeast, and it’s slowly wearing down the snow we got on Friday. Now it’s just icy and yucky here…

  2. December 21, 2008 10:27 am

    Yes, LindsayT is right on. It’s raining and washing away the beautiful snow. I absolutely love those lights in the snow photos. I am baking Christmas treats today and wrapping presents. It’s a good day for it.

  3. December 21, 2008 11:21 am

    That’s a lot of snow! You’re getting what we get all winter long but then I live in the North East where it’s normal. Actually right now you have way more than we do and you’re welcome to keep it. And I love the colored lights under the snow.

  4. December 21, 2008 12:49 pm

    Wow those lights look so pretty – I want snow!

  5. December 21, 2008 2:43 pm

    the lights in the snow are very, very cool….sort of an alien look. 🙂 very glad you can sit inside to enjoy this. would not want to drive in that mess. eek.

  6. Bev permalink
    December 21, 2008 8:56 pm

    Oh, yikes, that’s a lot of snow! We can get that here, but usually only once every year or two. As long as I don’t have to drive in it, I don’t mind. But, yes, it most definitely can make you stir crazy when you feel like you cannot get out.

    The lights are gorgeous!

  7. December 21, 2008 9:44 pm

    Thanks, my bloggy friends. It has continued to snow all day and we are being promised a white Christmas this year. I feel bad for our little Chihuahuas who have to go outside to potty. We’ve had to shovel a path for them several times now. We’re just not used to this stuff around here, but I have to admit, it really is pretty.

  8. December 22, 2008 8:11 am

    SOOO pretty! Thanks for posting the pics…i am PNW transplant living on the east coast, and although i read the Times online everyday, they have not been posting many pics that REALLY show the snow.
    YEAHHHH ‘hawks! I was all set to watch it here, but they played the Buffalo game instead. :o(

  9. December 23, 2008 9:32 am

    We are slammed here in Michigan. Just slammed with snow. Third storm in five days … and I am stuck at work, no lunch and no way I’m driving out in this crap. I love snow, but I love to drive safely, and in our economy, they aren’t plowing and salting as good as last year. Can you beleive these idiots in power made the decission to make it more unsafe for us on the roads to save money? I’d gladly pay more tax $ than to die on the way home.

    BTW, I love those light pictures. Very, very cool! And its ok for you to keep posting snow stories. Its hard to deal with, I understand!!!!

Comments are closed.

