Skip to content

You Know What This Means?

December 21, 2008

IMG_8044

This means I’ve been busy sewing. I’ve finished up my mom’s bathrobe for her Christmas gift (she doesn’t read this blog) and I’ve also cut out gifts for my daughter and my granddaughter. Can’t show you those yet. I’ve been cutting out stuff all afternoon. My back hurts. My legs are tired and my rotary cutters are dull.

But, I feel great. I am happy I’m making progress.

Here’s my mom’s bathrobe.

IMG_8035

Overall, this is a really easy pattern (McCalls 4218 – possibly out of print now.) If I make this again, and I might, I will not do that same curved collar. I’d straighten it out because, with the piping, it’s just wonky. Mom will love it, but it bugs me that it’s not perfect. Also, I’d put the pockets in the side seam, not on the front.

IMG_8036 The pattern is a dropped shoulder and I adjusted it for my mom’s petite frame. Hopefully the sleeves aren’t still too long, but once she tries it on, and if they are, I’ll just take off the sleeves, shorten them by redrawing the sleeve cap however many inches shorter, and then restitching them.

I used some sort of satiny fabric for the lining and cuffs and it’s nice, but slippery, of course, and heavier than the body fabric. So, to hold the cuffs up, I stitched them down (stitch in the ditch technique) around the top of the cuff. 

I also reinforced the pockets on the corners using a triangle pattern of stitch. Mom likes to put things in her pockets, so I was worried they’d pull and come unstitched. This should solve that. Oh, and I lined the pockets with the same satin that is used on the cuffs. Just a nice touch for her, I think.

IMG_8041

The body fabric is a mystery fabric from Joann’s. It has a soft brushed cotton underside, which should keep Mom warm. But it also has a bit of stretch in it when pulled on the bias – more than I’d expect from a standard cotton. So it was more difficult to work with. Still, I think overall, it came out quite nicely. It still needs a tie but I’ll do that later.

For now, I need to rest my little feet with Lily who is feeling neglected. And then get started sewing the next gifts. I don’t have much time left!

(PS – It hasn’t stopped snowing all day and the Seahawks WON for Coach Holmgren’s last game as Hawks coach at Qwest Field.)

9 Comments
  1. December 21, 2008 6:24 pm

    What a gorgeous robe for your mom. My own mom would have loved it.

  2. December 21, 2008 7:54 pm

    the robe is exquisite! it looks so expensive.

  3. December 21, 2008 9:41 pm

    LindsayT – Thanks. I wish I could sew faster, I’d make more for gifts. And thanks for stopping by and saying HI!

    Teri – Thank you! Coming from you, that means a lot. Your work is always so professional looking. Mom needs something to replace the literally expensive Victoria Secret one I bought her several years ago that should have been converted to rags about five years ago.

  4. December 22, 2008 8:12 am

    What a lovely robe! You did a beautiful job!

  5. December 22, 2008 12:09 pm

    Beautiful robe! I made my mom a robe for Christmas, too, but hers is a simple flannel robe. Your mom’s version is so elegant!

  6. Carrie permalink
    December 22, 2008 9:44 pm

    This is beautiful… I love your fabric choices!

  7. December 23, 2008 8:32 am

    VeeDog, Bonnie, Carrie – Thank you. I originally picked the fabric for myself, but I know mom will love it too.

  8. December 23, 2008 5:42 pm

    Okay, this is beautiful! Your mother is going to love this!!!

  9. December 23, 2008 5:51 pm

    Thanks, Carolyn. I sure hope so! I’ll report back on the response. 🙂

Comments are closed.

