Skip to content

My Christmas Card to You

December 24, 2008

Lily waiting for Santa

 

I always have the best of intentions to do my own cards, mail them, make a zillion fabulous homemade gifts for special friends outside of family, but time just gets away from me. For some reason, I never think about it until it’s too close to Christmas, and then there are never enough hours in the day. Next year, I tell myself, and next year I do the same thing. Sigh. Oh well.

At least, this year I’m happy, home, warm, and have my family around me. I started getting a swollen tonsil this morning, so hopefully that doesn’t mean I’m going to be sick tomorrow and can’t see my mom. At least one way or another, I won’t be alone. I started this blog two years ago after the worst Christmas ever where I was alone – it was desolately quiet except for my very ill daughter sleeping upstairs (we thought she just had the flu), who I ended up taking to the emergency room that night, and who was diagnosed with an incarcerated hernia. Had we waited much longer, things could have been much worse. As it was, they admitted her and she was in surgery within a few hours.

This year, everyone is healthy, including my mother, who has had her share of illness this year. We’ll all gather together and watch the little ones open toys and play with glee. To me, that’s the most important part of the holiday season: little kids, their innocence and purity. That, and being with family.

Speaking of family – I want to wish all of my bloggy friends a happy holiday. You are like my extended family and many of you I’ve come to know and grow so fond of. Isn’t the blogosphere fabulous? Meeting people and sharing connections in ways we never would have had just a few years ago. It’s incredible.

Happy Christmas everyone. I’ll see you on the flip side.

Love,

Claire (aka Little Miss)

6 Comments
  1. Bev permalink
    December 24, 2008 2:32 pm

    And a very Merry Christmas to you, Claire!

    Thank you so much for blogging as often as you do. You are always a delightful read, sunny and full of optimism. I enjoy it beyond measure.

    Here’s hoping we all have a prosperous New Year with good health and good cheer. Blessings to you and yours!

  2. December 24, 2008 2:49 pm

    Awesome card Little Miss!! I hope you and your family have the best Christmas ever!!

  3. December 25, 2008 4:18 am

    I love the card. Thank you for a beautiful Blog. Merry Christmas:)

  4. December 25, 2008 2:06 pm

    Merry Christmas!!

  5. December 25, 2008 5:46 pm

    Merry Christmas to you too! Indeed I feel that I’ve made so many friends this year thanks to the internet and the blogosphere! I certainly hope you didn’t get sick and were able to spend the day with your family!

  6. December 29, 2008 9:57 am

    Thank God you didn’t put Lily’s name on this card, because Buck and I just decided to steal it and send it to everyone next year as Stella’s Christmas card.

    Just kiddin’. But we were tempted. Very tempted. 🙂 It’s beautiful!

    I’m so glad you had a great Christmas and everyone is healthy this year. That’s really the most important thing of all, isn’t it? Happy New Year!

Comments are closed.

