Skip to content

Who is this person and what have you done with my mom?

December 28, 2008

That must be what my daughters are saying these days when it comes to me and cooking and baking. I’ve long been a hater of food and baking and cooking, thinking I was sorely lacking in culinary skills. Perhaps I was. Perhaps I never really tried.

Lately, however, I’ve been having so much fun trying new recipes – healthy , low in fat, high in fiber, and good for you recipes. I have almost perfected the pumpkin cheesecake recipe, and by substituting regular sugar with Splenda baking blend, I’ve cut the POINTS value down to three per slice. I baked it for Christmas and people didn’t even believe it was nearly fat free and completely sugar free.

Today I had a stack of ripe bananas and I’m so tired of throwing them away. So I made up a batch of banana-oatmeal bread from a Weight Watchers recipe. I doubled the recipe, and then to half the batter, I added a cup of dried cranberries. (If the link to the recipe doesn’t work, let me know.)

IMG_8186

Each loaf yields about 10 generous slices. Each slice is 3 POINTS value. And did you know that the Splenda brown sugar blend substitute calculates to be more points than regular unpacked light brown sugar? At least that’s what the Weight Watchers online recipe builder tells me. I used the Splenda for this recipe, so we’ll see how it tastes. I can tell you it sure smells good. Now I could have a slice of that, a cup of red grapefruit and coffee for breakfast and be one happy camper.

I could even have a slice with some coffee tonight because I earned a buttload (as opposed to a boatload) of activity points today by shoveling the whole friggin’ street outside all by myself. (The street lines four houses, so if that gives you an idea of length….)

I’m ready to put my feet up.

3 Comments
  1. run4change permalink
    December 29, 2008 7:07 am

    Dang that looks good. Only problem is that I think I might like 10 slices. That puts me at 30 points and I only get 31 for the day. I guess I can eat a huge amount of veggies for dinner 🙂 Good job on cooking healthy. It is good for you and your family. I also do weight watchers and have lost 130 lbs on it. It is a good way to go.
    http://run4change.wordpress.com

  2. December 29, 2008 9:42 am

    That looks so delicious. I am a huge fan of quick bread. (though the name doesn’t really make sense because they’re never that quick, but I suppose they’re comparing it to normal bread that needs to rise…) I have several favorites that I make regularly, one of them being a tangerine bread that is just wonderful. The problem is that now that the kids aren’t around I’m usually the one who eats the whole loaf. Over a couple of days of course. But still, as much as I love to bake I hesitate because of the calories. I’m definitely going to look this recipe up.

  3. December 29, 2008 9:46 am

    My plan, Wendy, is to only have about 2 or 3 slices out on the counter (or in the fridge). I’m going to freeze the rest. And if you cut the loaf into 14 slices instead of 10, the points value is only 2 points per slice, so not so bad. It is good though. Could be better though because I realized I forgot the baking soda and used a bit too much baking powder. Dang my eyes. I need new glasses.

    Run4change – congrats on your weight loss! That is incredible. Good for you. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Hope to hear more from you. I’m going over to check out your blog now.

Comments are closed.

