Skip to content

The Final Count is In

December 30, 2008

SantaClaire I have lost a total of 52.4 pounds this year. I’ve bruised my back patting myself on it so hard. I am seriously proud of myself. But I worked hard for that 52.4 pounds – and I did it in just around ten months. (I’m not finished by any means yet…. just wait!)

This last couple weeks, even month, has been a real struggle for me. This was my first holiday season on Weight Watchers and I’ve been really working hard to stick to the program. Throughout my journey, every now and then I go up 2.4 pounds, and then turn around and lose it. All part of being female. However, this last increase happened just before the holidays started, and then last week my meeting place was closed because of inclement weather. I was also getting a tad complacent and slipping a bit on my tracking POINTS and doing any activity. So, I stepped up my game and got back down to brass tacks. And it paid off. When most people gain five pounds over the holidays, I lost a net of 1.4 pounds. (I don’t count the 2.4 pound fluctuation.)

So what did I learn and accomplish this year as it relates to my weight loss journey?

I am proud of the fact that I have not skipped a single meeting since joining, unless the facility was closed, so that means I’ve only missed one meeting in ten months. Even when I went on vacation, I still attended meetings, weighed in, and lost nearly five pounds.

I’ve learned that it’s okay to put myself first, especially when it comes to my healthy and building a healthy lifestyle for myself. That membership fee is in my account every month, and holds a priority status as important as my food and housing bills.

I have better tools now for staying on plan when dining out. I plan ahead and count the points. I don’t deprive myself of things like creme brulee, I just eat less of it, and again, I count the points.

I make better choices in my life. I remove temptations and negativity from my life – in all its forms – because I’m learning the connection between my eating and my emotions. Note, I’m still learning. I haven’t perfected it yet. I still eat my popcorn out of boredom and laziness, but it’s getting better.

I have found ways to be active without a gym membership. Like using the stairs more often. Parking farther away from the store entrance. Walking around the neighborhood for 30 minutes. Shoveling snow. Not letting rain stop me from a good walk.

This next year will be a wonderful year for me in so many ways – I know it.

I will hit my goal weight this next year. It may be in March (my one year anniversary) or it may be this time next year. It doesn’t matter. It only matters that I continue to persist and show up and suit up and follow the program.

Oh, and the most important thing I learned? That I cannot do this alone. I had the support and encouragement of my family and friends, and you, my bloggy friends, that helped me keep going. I did the footwork, but without my meetings, my leader, my support system, I don’t know that I would have done quite as well.

Thank you for a great year!

10 Comments
  1. Mary permalink
    December 30, 2008 8:26 am

    Congratulations on a great year of taking care of yourself! I have no doubt you will reach your goals! Mary

    Thanks, Mary. I’m sure I will too!

  2. December 30, 2008 10:31 am

    and you look great! What a wonderful accomplishment. You have every right to be very proud.

    VV – sometimes I ask myself what took me so long to get with the program. Thank you for the compliment.

  3. December 30, 2008 12:52 pm

    AWESOME!!! you could be poster girl for weight watchers. πŸ™‚

    Teri – Ha! Thank you. I may seriously consider being a leader someday. I heart WW.

  4. December 30, 2008 2:40 pm

    Congratulations to you!!! what a great accomlishment. I am proud of you. I hope to get serious in 2009 and loose some weight.

    Cici – you can do it too, when you are ready, if you need to. WW has changed my life and I’m delighted to share it with anyone and everyone.

  5. Bev permalink
    December 30, 2008 3:21 pm

    You are one fabulous looking chick! πŸ™‚

    Good for you, Claire…..good for you!

    Bev – I’m blushing. Thank you so much.

  6. December 30, 2008 6:54 pm

    You are so gorgeous! Forget my question on your other post, about the meetings. I see that all this time, you’ve been going to them, weighing in etc. It’s paying off in spades! Congratulations!

    MB – Thank you! Yes, I’ve been going and doing the whole program. I’ve made some really great new friends there too. It’s fabulous, really! Best $39.99 a month I’ve ever invested in myself. LOL.

  7. December 30, 2008 8:43 pm

    Love the photo, you look fantastic. Congratulations! You deserve it. You are my inspiration. I totally agree with you–support from friends and family is key. I couldn’t do it alone either. Here is to sticking with weight watchers forever!!! Happy New!!!

    Joan – you are MY inspiration! I love how we inspire each other. I feel such a kinship with you, and this next year will be great for us both – we will both be successful in so many ways.

  8. January 1, 2009 11:08 pm

    CONGRATS!!! I just realized I had signed your about me page as “Lumpy” – that was my former blog πŸ™‚ I’m happy for you and wish you continued success!!! Happy New Year!

    JavaQueen – You posted that a long time ago. Lumpy? Where does that come from? LOL. Sometimes I feel a bit lumpy. πŸ˜‰ Happy New Year to you as well.

  9. January 2, 2009 11:10 am

    OH MY GOD! Congrats! I had no idea you were on this quest. I don’t really have time to comment (on deadline and shouldn’t be here), but I’m so, so, so very happy for you and proud of you. An inspiration to us all.

    Hi Beth – Thank you for your kind comments. I don’t post this stuff on my work blog and keep it here, and I know you browse that blog occasionally. I’ve been so remiss over there… too busy with this and work. I hope this year is a better one for you – sounds like you are off to a great start! I’ve been following you, even if I haven’t commented.

  10. cabsplace permalink
    January 2, 2009 8:53 pm

    Hey sis!
    I’ve been so remiss in checking your blog. I love it!!! I do love the picture, but I had a tough time concentrating on what you wrote on this one because that dorky hat is so happy it kept making me laugh. I want a hat like that. Then, when I’m sad I’ll look at it and start laughing. And, way to go on the “taking care of you” thing. I am really proud of you.
    Little Sis

    Hey, where’ve you been??? LOL. That hat is so Whoville, don’t you think? My daughter needs to wear it because she’s the original Cindy Lou Who, you know. Taking care of you is so critical – in my opinion – because without doing that first, we have nothing to give anyone else. Nothing. And I prefer giving to receiving. Just me. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

