Skip to content

Who said anything about a diet?

December 30, 2008

Not me. 🙂 There is nothing “diet” about Weight Watchers. It’s all about making good, healthy, nutritious choices and carving out a new lifestyle (and a new body!)

Think you have to deprive yourself of your favorite foods or go hungry? Think again. In fact, today I had the yummiest breakfast in a long time. PANCAKES. And only 4 POINTS value total.

IMG_8193

How did I do that? Here’s how.

IMG_8196

One serving of pancake mix yields those three pancakes above for a total POINTS value of 3 points – one POINT per pancake. One quarter cup (and I didn’t use all that) of the syrup is only one point. Note that I used sugar free syrup. Regular syrup is higher on POINTS, but I didn’t notice the difference at all. I added some vanilla flavoring and cinnamon to the pancake batter and then topped it all off with thawed, frozen raspberries (1/4 cup).

Voila! A breakfast that feels as decadent and sinful as any IHOP or Denny’s platter, but my waistline and my health will like this one much better.

6 Comments
  1. run4change permalink
    December 30, 2008 10:10 am

    Can you please come on over tomorrow so I can have some too :). That looks great. Good job on being creative and changing things up a bit. That is a major weakness of mine, eating the same stuff all the time. WW, definately not a diet.
    http://run4change.wordpress.com

    I’ll run right over… pun intended! LOL. I’ve been stuck on oatmeal and bananas for so long, I really needed to switch it up to something other than egg beaters too.

  2. mediamaggie permalink
    December 30, 2008 10:39 am

    yum!!! I’m going to have to try those for sure! I guess I was also afraid to eat pancakes, not knowing there was a low point option!

    http://imstuffed.wordpress.com

    You bet – there are so many low points options. I checked out your blog and I see you do WW online. Surf their site for recipes and ideas. I print out their recipes, put them in a plastic page protector, then stick them in a three-ring binder in my kitchen. They have a yummy banana-oatmeal bread too.

  3. December 30, 2008 12:54 pm

    that does look yummy! how does the fiber one taste as compared to regular pancakes? could i slip in on my kids and not have them notice?

    Teri – it’s been a long time since I’ve had real pancakes, but I didn’t notice any “fibery” taste to these. And I seriously didn’t notice any difference in sugar free syrup either. It was just as thick and “rich” as the original. My daughter is going to try it on her kids, so I’ll let you know. I bet if you took it out of the box, put it in a plain container, they’d never know the difference.

  4. December 30, 2008 6:37 pm

    I am such a pancake freak but I only let myself eat them about once a year but you can bet that I may be having them more often since reading this! Congratulations on your success, you must feel so much better.

    Laura – these are definitely a good option. I wonder how they would do as waffles too? I don’t have a waffle maker though. And, thank you, I do feel so much better.

  5. December 30, 2008 6:51 pm

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Are you doing WW online, or do you attend meetings in person?

    Congrats, LM!

    And it was Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Especially with raspberries – my favorite fruit. I answered you on the other post too. 😉

  6. December 30, 2008 8:32 pm

    Thanks for the tip on the pancake mix. I am buying some tomorrow. I’ve eaten A lot of Fiber One products but I hadn’t seen the pancake mix. Sounds great!!

    OMGosh, Joan – just as you posted this I was typing you an email. How weird is that?? Look in your email….

Comments are closed.

