Skip to content

Promises to be a year of thinning ahead

January 3, 2009

I had a minor epiphany today. It seems to me that when one’s body thins, the desire to thin all aspects of one’s life prevails.

Today, I started by writing out some goals on oversized index cards because, you know, I’m nothing if not ambitious. Some might call it being an overachiever, but what-EV-ah!

There were home improvement goals, personal goals, and things to do right now. Right now included some sewing. I’ve had a hard time being in my office lately, and I think that was because of the clutter I had let accumulate. So I decided to quickly sew up the curtains I had in mind for in there, and then I moved on to rearranging the furniture slightly, cleaning the floors and dust balls, and purging some books and clutter.

Here are the curtains in the office. That weird splotch in the middle of the photo is the flash reflecting off the glass on top of the desk.

IMG_8219

IMG_8223This fabric I have had since the mid 80s. I love it. It’s an Alexander Henry Collection fabric (printed on the selvedge, which I didn’t bother tucking under, as you can see). I originally had purchased it to make a top and skirt way back in the mid 80s and never did, but it is so much better suited to this. I love the bold colors, and it goes with the tropical theme I have for my office and scattered throughout my home. It’s just cheery when I’m looking out the window at a gray winter day. It’s so “me”.

The curtains only took about an hour to sew. I did need to double-check online which way up the orchids should be. šŸ˜‰ Easy peasy, and I accomplished crossing something off my list and using up some of my fabric stash. I still have a yard and a half left of this fabric and I’ll probably use it for some accent in the room. I’ll be putting a side chair in there eventually, so I’ll probably recover the seat using this fabric. Maybe.

I also rearranged things so Lily could have a better spot in my office, seeing as a) she likes this doggie bed, even though when she’s in it, you can’t find her and b) she likes to be in my office with me.

IMG_8225

Anyway, back to the thinning idea… I’m planning on clearing out a ton of stuff I never use, don’t want, can no longer fit into, doesn’t match my decor, and so on, and then putting them on Craigslist for sale and using the money to get some things I really want, like new running shoes, and a combo printer/fax/copier/scanner for my office. This includes fabric. I know! Blasphemy! Seriously – unless the fabric is just one I know I adore, or will eventually use when I get to the size I want to be, then I’m going to sell it or give it away. I just don’t want or need all the extra stuff I have around my house and the decluttering and organizing really makes me energized, which in turn, will probably help me lose weight!

I really like this whole thinning thing. It’s really freeing in so many ways.

6 Comments
  1. January 3, 2009 8:55 pm

    love the new curtains! It reminds me of the sort of bold use of pattern and color that the legendary decorator Dorothy Draper did.

  2. January 3, 2009 9:07 pm

    VV – Thanks! I love bold colors – particularly all the ones in that fabric. I have never heard of Dorothy Draper, but that means only that I’m uneducated when it comes to interior design. I’m heading over to the legendary Google to check it out. šŸ™‚

  3. January 4, 2009 12:51 am

    those curtains will definitely perk up a dreary winter day. šŸ™‚

    i, too, love a good decluttering. can’t wait until my knee is well enough to do some around here.

  4. January 4, 2009 4:46 am

    It is so freeing. The stuff hanging around that we don’t like/need/use can make ya feel overwhelmed- great post- your office is so pretty!!!!

  5. January 4, 2009 8:45 am

    The curtains are beautiful – they go so well with the wall color! That splotch in the photo was actually kind of cool! I can almost “see” all the items on the desk reflected up there. Or at least the shapes of them.

    I totally agree with you about “thinning.” I’ve always felt so much better, and lighter when decluttering my home and life. šŸ™‚ May 2009 bring nothing but good things to you and yours! Oh, and congrats on the award from Joan – that is what I originally came over to say. I’m easily distracted though. šŸ˜‰

  6. Julie permalink
    January 7, 2009 11:16 am

    Love the curtains! They definitely perk up a gray winter day.

Comments are closed.

